un4seen 2011 white

made from California Chardonnay, Semillon, Moscato, and Viognier; 13.5% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 14 July

un4seen_2011_whiteWhereas I was drawn to the un4seen 2009 red mostly by the grapes in the blend, here I was mostly drawn in by the un4seen red.  🙂  The white is very much in the same mould as the red: exuberantly delicious, maybe even more so than the red.

The most obvious flavors right away were yellow peach and honeysuckle from the Viognier, but that was enriched by ripe yellow apple from the Chardonnay, accentuated by aromatic melon from the Muscat, and likely supported by some white wax bean from the Semillon.  The ripe fruit is nicely balanced by acid and a little bitterness.  I often find Muscat too cloying, but this wine does not trigger that dislike.  Like this wine’s red counterpart, the flavors are a wild and tasty jumble rather than an elegant blend, but again, who cares?

6 thoughts on “un4seen 2011 white

  1. lim13

    Bought one bottle in Silverdale and tried it tonight. Your flavor profile, BW is pretty much what I found too…with peachy qualities being the strongest. But it lacked sufficient acidity for me (which is sometimes an issue with Rhone style whites i.e. Viognier) and it was a tad sweeter than what I’d prefer. Finish seemed a bit short too. I’d say it’s a decent quaffer with very attractive floral, fruity nose and flavors, but just not for me.

    Reply
  2. Darrell

    Hmmm, I am going to have to smell white wax beans when I go to the market to see if it resembles Semillon.

    Reply
  3. lim13

    Sounds yummy, but Un4Seen is yet to be seen up our way on the Olympic Peninsula. And when I first started reading your review, BW…I was a little surprised that you were positively reviewing a blend with Muscat in it. Sounds reminiscent of Folie a Deux Menage a Trois white blend…one of my favorites.

    Reply
    1. Darrell

      Muscat is ubiquitous especially in proprietary whites, but nowadays wineries at least disclose its usage whereas in the old days, it wasn’t. Years before, an addition of high proofed muscat juice was added to some whites for floral and fruity aromas.

      Reply
    2. BargainWhine Post author

      Well, the label does say “a delicate Moscato,” so maybe that is why I can enjoy it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

