“Turn 4″ 2010 white

second label of Bennett Lane Winery
California; 14.5% ABV; screw cap
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 21 July

Turn4_whiteI picked this up as an intriguing and inexpensive mystery wine.  It’s a bit too ripe and fruity for my taste, but if you like that sort of thing, this is a delicious quaffer for the price.

A note on Wine Enthusiast says this wine is a blend of Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc.  However, I have a hard time believing there is not also a good component of a perfumed, fruity grape like Viognier or Muscat, as that component generally dominates.  (I had guessed a Viognier – Chardonnay blend, perhaps with some Muscat and Sauvignon Blanc.)  Somewhat on the nose, but especially on the palate, you get intense, yellow fruit and floral flavors of apple, peach, and melon, with occasional moments of green grape bitterness and, I suspect, a little supporting oak.  I felt that the ripe fruit could be a little better balanced with acid, but it’s not dull.  Although I’m not sure it will last well into the fall, this should be good summer drinking at a good price.

The next day, the last bit in the bottle was still good, and tasted much more plausibly like a Napa-ripe Chardonnay – SB blend, although that’s possibly just because I learned it’s supposed to be one.

6 thoughts on ““Turn 4″ 2010 white

  1. jwc

    I like this blend, not enough to run out and pu a case, but a decent summer quaffer…drank over 3 days. Do prefer the Chenin/Riesling blend out of the Central Coast for a buck less, Vertigo from Gravity Hills, crisper and more refreshing in the summer heat we’ve been having in Oregon.

    Reply
  2. philinoakland

    A bit late to the party here, but they have had a new shipment in at the Oakland store for a few days now.

    Steve the Wine Guy told me I should buy some, and it was a good tip. Totally agree, the wine has quite a bit more bite and body feel to it after 24 hours in the fridge. Isn’t that pretty unusual for a cheap white ?

    Reply
  3. Stu Rosenthal

    Tried a bottle based upon reviews here… a little sweet and right on the edge of spoiling. Maybe it was the particular bottle however there a small bit of fiz that soon dissipated, and little funky. The wine guy at the PH store did warn of the age.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Stu and thanks for your note. I also thought the wine did not have much longer to be drinkable, but I didn’t think it would start heading downhill that quickly. Maybe just bottle variation, but still…

      Reply
  4. Seedboy

    I bought one of these and commented to myself that I was not sure what was in it but I was pretty sure there was no muscat. I’m getting really tired of these blends with muscat or gewurtztraminer in them. Give me more Rhonish blends, please. I thought this wine was overly fruity for my taste and a bit flabby. I drank enough of it so that I do not feel comfortable taking it back, though.

    Reply
  5. Don Bevins

    I pretty much concur with your assessment of the turn 4white. I did detect what seemed to be some viognier in the blend.
    The alcohol level is something that I have found in wines with a healthy dose of viognier in the blend.
    For a buck less, I will continue to enjoy the un4seen white during the dog days of summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

