Giormani 2012 Valpolicella Ripasso DOC

50% Corvina, 20% Rondinella, 30% Corvinone; 14% ABV
Valpolicella Ripasso DOC, Veneto, (northeast) Italy
$9 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 23 July

Giormani_2012_ValpRipThe Giormani 2011 Valpolicella Ripasso was very well received here, so (once again) after I realized this appearance represented a different vintage, I got a bottle.  While I still liked this wine, IMO it’s nowhere near as good as the 2011.

Upon opening, I first poured off a half bottle and stoppered it with very little air.  The second half I poured into a decanter.  It was pretty good from the start, but I thought it opened up after about 75 minutes of air.  It showed delicious flavors of tangy, ripe / tart purple plum and red cherries, orange peel, brown earth / leather, maybe light tobacco, and was very nicely aromatic and elegant.  However, it’s lighter in body and flavors, and less complex, than the 2011.

The next day, the flavors in the saved half bottle were darker, more forward, and less complex and elegant.  It was still tasty, but I preferred it on the first day.  It’s not, like a lot of GO wine, on the verge of spoiling, but it’s certainly not one to age, either.  I would like it better for a dollar or two less.

One thought on “Giormani 2012 Valpolicella Ripasso DOC

  1. Summerose Alexander

    I am not knowledgeable about wine at all so take each bottle (or glass) at a time. I don’t remember drinking this wine before. I like it and did not expect to like it as well as I do. I am it listening to some J.S. Bach and writing here on my laptop. It is very conducive to this. The taste is nice but not overwhelming. It is smooth although I thought the bouquet was a bit weak but passable. I like Italian wine especially the reds.

    The price was excellent. I live in Portland, Oregon and at one time had made up my mind to buy local wine. Few of the local wine has the smooth taste of this wine and for some reason the local wine here are very expensive and they use metal caps. I appreciate the cork of Giormani Ripasso Valpolicella. The average price of a bottle of wine at Raptor’s Ridge, just outside of Scholl, Oregon, is 45 dollars. This wine is so much cheaper. I have talked to people who work at New Seasons and they agree the local wine is expensive and they personally buy the imported wine and not the Oregon wine although the wine at Raptor’s Ridge is good. I still buy as I will from now wine from other countries.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

