Zinman 2012 Reserve Red

from Perry Creek Winery in El Dorado County, CA; 15.1% ABV
$9 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 1 Aug

Zinman_2012_ReserveThere was another Zinman wine several months ago that a number of people recommended to me, but I never tried.  To compensate for missing that wine, I picked up this one.  I hope the other one was better.

I thought it needed about two hours in a decanter to open up as much as it was going to.  Then, it showed nicely ripe flavors of darker red cherries, blackberries / purple grapes, strawberry jam, and some other black fruit.  However, it also had an acrid taste like a combination of black rubber and grape stem, especially on the finish.  The back of the bottle says only that the wine is composed of “five mysterious varietals.”  The winery site says they specialize in Zinfandels and Rhone varietals.  To me it didn’t taste that much like Zinfandel, but maybe there was a bit of Syrah in it.  Strangely enough, it reminded me of a California version of Portuguese varietals, but maybe just because its ripeness might have reminded me of port.  Anyway, I thought that maybe such a young reserve wine just wasn’t showing its stuff on the first night.

The second half (stored in a 375ml bottle stoppered with very little air), however, was not any better, although for different reasons.  The dark acrid flavor was gone or at least integrated in an agreeable manner, but the finish was now quite abrasive.  Also, the fruit flavors were heading toward the sort of artificial candy-like flavors to which I regularly object.  Overall, I really can’t recommend this wine, especially for the price.

4 thoughts on “Zinman 2012 Reserve Red

  1. Patti

    Love this wine and love this winery. We go every year to eldorado wine tasting. This one of our favorite stops!!! What a deal thank you grocery outlet….
    Mrs. Zinn
    V

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Patti and welcome. I’m pretty sure this wine is now out at stores near me. For anyone who may want more, would you mind telling us at which GO you found it?

      Reply
        1. BargainWhine Post author

          Hi PS and welcome. I’m glad to hear you liked the wine, and maybe your saying so will encourage others to try it and I hope also like it. Cheers!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

