2008 l’Ora

Vigneti delle Dolomiti IGT, Trentino, (northern) Italy; bottled by Pravis
Made from the Nosiola grape; 14.5% ABV
$4 at the Berkeley, CA store on 24 Aug

lOra_2008_PravisI didn’t think to check the vintage of this wine until I took a sip at home.  Then, the evident oxidation made me look at the back label to find out.  However, it’s probably just as well I didn’t look at it too closely in the store, or I would have missed out on this yummy wine.

Although it came off as a little old and oxidized at first, I thought the wine freshened after it had been open a little while.  (I put the cork back in the top and put it back in the fridge.)  Then, the wine showed lively and full flavors of honeyed ripe yellow apple and yellow flowers, balancing mild lemony acid, lighter yellow peach, with a tasty nutty, woodiness.  I’d say that if you like riper, oakier, Chardonnays, although this wine is not flabby or overly heavy, you’d do pretty well with this wine at this price.  Don’t wait at all to drink it.  Last night, it stood up to, but did not really go with, squid with green olives and capers.

6 thoughts on “2008 l’Ora

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened two bottles of this wine for a dinner party last night, to go with a big pot of soup made from potatoes, leeks, fish (Dover sole), oyster mushrooms, and cream. The pairing was quite good. I put the wine in decanters in the fridge for 2 to 3 hours before it was served.

    Reply
  2. Darrell

    Hmmm, I have a sneaking suspicion that what is being perceived as oxidation, isn’t. The bottle in the photo isn’t at all browning. The experiences of BW and SB are reminding me of my experience with the V.V. southern Rhone Rousanne that I thought was oxidized that kinda grew on me. BW, thanks for the link to Nosiola which I found enlightening since I didn’t know which grape variety went into Vin Santo. For me, a 2008 white isn’t that old where it would turn aldehydic unless very, very poorly stored. Your experiences have me intrigued and now I will have to try a bottle. I have never had much interest in Italian whites except for the Alto-Adige which tend to have a more Northern European, Germanic winemaking practices and this would indicate being less prone to oxidation compared to S. Italy.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Darrell. Yes, I would say the style is more like those wines from farther north, like those I have tasted from the Südtirol (Alto Adige). I will be interested in your opinion.

      Reply
  3. BargainWhine Post author

    Seedboy commented on this wine: “I bought a bottle of the l’Ora on a friend’s recommendation and was immediately put off by some oxidation, but the wine grew on me and I ended up finishing the bottle.” I replied that “I also thought the l’Ora started out objectionably oxidized, but freshened remarkably with some air. The next day, the little bit left in the bottle was exuberantly floral and fruity.” He concluded with, “I drank it over about four days. I did not even refrigerate it after the first day, but tried it on a lark the next day and was pleased. I thought it was best the last day. Also, note the long, expensive cork in this bottle.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

