Mezzacorona 2012 Chardonnay

Vigneti delle Dolomiti IGT, Trentino – Alto Adige, northern Italy; 13% ABV
$5 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 26 Aug

Mezzacorona_2012_ChardI think I’ve passed over this wine for a while because the name and label seemed pretty corny or bland to me.  However, after I liked the 2008 l’Ora so much, and noticed that this wine was from the same designation (area of Italy), I had to try it.  I’m glad I did.

I thought this was a very interesting version of Chardonnay.  It’s easy for me to imagine that stylistically it’s between the wines of Alto Adige and those of Veneto, closer to the former.  (That’s how it is geographically.)  The wine shows restrained and balanced flavors of yellow apple, lemon, and some green apple.  Especially with a little more air, it has a good tropical fruit component of cherimoya and golden kiwi.  There’s also some minerality / un-toasted oak, or at least that’s my best guess.  Overall an interesting, tasty, and definitely non-Californian version of Chardonnay.

The next day, the rest of the wine was smoother and more forward, but otherwise quite similar.

6 thoughts on “Mezzacorona 2012 Chardonnay

  1. weinish

    I’m familiar with this producer. They make a number of quality wines.

    As far as Chard goes, this is the type of austere, crisp wine I’m looking for from the Dolomites.

    There’s a slight bit of oxidation/petrol on it, but nothing major.

    Bought a case.

    Reply
    1. Seedboy

      Weinish, haven’t seen you in these parts lately. Good to see you back.
      I bought a bottle of the l’Ora on a friend’s recommendation and was immediately put off by some oxidation, but the wine grew on me and I ended up finishing the bottle. I’ll have to check out the Chard, as I could use some right now.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Weinish! I agree: it’s nice to see you again! Second, myself, I wouldn’t go so far as to call this Chardonnay “austere,” especially on the second day. I’m just worried you could scare off some folks who would like this wine. 🙂 But, again, wines strike everyone differently, and I’m glad you also liked this one.

        Seedboy, I also thought the l’Ora started out objectionably oxidized, but freshened remarkably with some air. The next day, the little bit left in the bottle was exuberantly floral and fruity. I will be opening one or two more of the l’Ora tonight with a potato / leek / fish / mushroom soup.

        Reply
        1. Robert Seeds

          I drank it over about four days. i did not even refrigerate it after the first day, but tried it on a lark the next day and was pleased. I thought it was best the last day. Also, note the long, expensive cork in this bottle.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

