Hesketh 2008 Grüner Veltliner “Perfect Stranger”

Krems, Austria (Niederösterreich); 12.5% ABV; screw cap
$4 at the Oakland, CA, store on 3 Sep

Hesketh_2008_GrunerVeltlinerWe don’t often see Grüner Veltliners at the GO, so I happily grabbed this one after the wine steward assured me that it was not too old.  This fairly full-bodied but crisp white wine shows flavors of medium ripe yellow apple and lemon, tart green apple, a little white pepper, and a slightly chalky minerality.  Maybe you could say it has some weariness of age, but is not at all too old.  It’s not the most complex wine, but still pretty tasty for the price, especially if you’re a fan of the varietal.

 

7 thoughts on “Hesketh 2008 Grüner Veltliner “Perfect Stranger”

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened another bottle of this wine four days ago. While it was a little more accessible on the first night than the bottle reviewed above, it was very similar. Over those four days, the wine opened up more and became more accessible and complex. Tonight, it’s getting a little tired, but still tasty.– a sturdy wine for $4!

    Reply
  2. GOWineLover

    Review is spot on. Had some tonight (2nd day open) stopped only with the original cork and thought it was far superior to the first night open. While there isn’t much fruit coming through (and I haven’t had enough GV to know how much the grape can give), there is substantially more tonight. It is still quite tart. I don’t get as much minerality but it is softer with a lot more of the fruit coming through (which is to say not very much but enough that it has shown its underlying personality. I suppose I would liken it to a second date with someone who is a true introvert, someone who didn’t offer too much upon the first date but with whom you went out again anyways and turns into a nice surprise after a glass or two of wine). I think it’s a win (1) due to a GV being at GO, one of the more rare varietals for GO and (2) price point. I would truly love it for what it is with more fruit but I think it’s a very good value as-is especially after tasting again tonight.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Thanks GOWineLover. I’m also finishing my bottle of this tonight, and agree with your comments about how the wine has changed. As for 1st night vs. 2nd night, I’d say it depends on whether you prefer more minerality or more fruit. I like ’em both. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        I wonder if this wine is bottle shocked from the travel? I’m tempted to buy a couple of them and try one in a few months.

        Reply
        1. BargainWhine Post author

          Hi Seedboy. I had not considered that, but it wouldn’t surprise me if that’s the case. Probably if you waited one or two months to drink it, the fruit would be more accessible on the first night.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

