2011 Piggy Bank Grenache, Languedoc, France $4.99

Silverdale, WA    14% alc.    (Purchased on 8/29/14)

I initially passed this wine by because I wasn’t particularly enamored of the name or label.  But I’m glad that I decided to give it a try because it’s very flavorful and delicious for a Pays D’Oc.  And I like what these folks are doing regarding charities.  Check out their website here.

IMG_1677Mostly clear and very pretty deep ruby color with pink rim.  Fruity raspberry aromas when first poured, but the wine opens considerably after 30-40 minutes and shows both green and black peppercorn along with red raspberry jam.  Tastes just lightly sweet on the front of the tongue, but dries out quickly from mid-palate through the finish.  Just the right acidity balances everything out and the tannins are restrained, yet add body and texture, particularly in the finish.  Flavors show raspberry, strawberry and a little ripe cherry, while the pepperry qualities fade to the background.  Very tasty and the slightly higher acidity should make it a great food wine.  We found that it went extremely well with pan sauteed Copper River salmon with butter and onions.  It didn’t overpower the fish and the acidity cut right through the butter.  I like it.

3 thoughts on “2011 Piggy Bank Grenache, Languedoc, France $4.99

  1. Salemoenophile

    I agree with your assessment of the Grenache, tasty, tangy, and reasonably well balanced. I also was disappointed by the rose (though it was clean and useful for cooking.) This brand also has a Sauvignon Blanc, sourced from Chile, that is worth trying. I went back for a few more bottles of that and the grenache.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Happy to here that you too enjoyed the Grenache, Salemoenophile. Haven’t seen the Sauv Blanc up here yet, but the rose’ showed up over the weekend. Based on the comments of you and BargainWhine, I’m not inclined to try it. But if there’s nothing else around, I may grab a bottle just to see how boring it really is. Sad, huh? I’m assuming you bought these wines in the Salem GO?

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine

    I’m glad to hear you liked it. I tasted a Piggy Bank rosé recently that I didn’t think that much of. Not offensive, just not much to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

