Waterbrook 2012 Mélange white blend

Columbia Valley, WA; 13.5% ABV
50% Riesling, 20% Pinot Gris, 10% Chardonnay, 10% Sauvignon Blanc, 6% Viognier, 4% Muscat
$7 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 8 Sept

Waterbrook_2012_MelangeBlancThe 2010 and the 2012 vintages of the Waterbrook Mélange have been at the Berkeley store for a while.  I decided to get one now because (1) I was out of white wine and (2) I recalled Lim13’s liking an earlier vintage (the 2009).  The 2012 was a dollar cheaper and of course two years younger than the 2010.

The wine is very aromatically floral and ripe-fruity, showing flavors of honeysuckle, yellow peach, maybe light yellow mango, and perfumed white (and slightly green) melon.  The flavors are quite fresh, nicely blended, and reasonably balanced.  Before I looked up the composition, I had guessed it had some Viognier, likely Chenin Blanc, and maybe some sort of Muscat.  For my taste, this wine is too perfumed and fruity with not enough acid, rather cloying, although I believe the wine would be called medium dry (2.1% residual sugar, which I think converts to 8.4g/L).  However, it is extremely yummy, and it’s not like I couldn’t tolerate drinking it.  🙂

I preferred it on the first day, but it was still pretty good the next day (kept in the fridge with the screw cap on).

7 thoughts on “Waterbrook 2012 Mélange white blend

  1. RB

    I tried this last night and found your review to be spot on, BW. A little too sweet for me, but not by much and it was pleasant and had very nice flavors. I think a lot of people would enjoy this wine.

    Reply
  2. Gary

    I tasted it before I realized, from reading the post again is that it has Viognier…the flowery taste kills it for me. Always read the fine print 🙂

    Reply
    1. lim13

      The first couple vintages of this white (2008 & 2009) were favorites of mine and I almost always had some in the cellar. But since then I’ve been very disappointed. I don’t mind the “perfumed and fruity”, but the low acidity leaves me cold. I suspect Precept is steering this wine toward the masses…”talk dry, drink sweet”. Thanks for the heads-up, BW…a “don’t buy” for me too.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Hi Lim13. It may be only because I dislike “perfumed and fruity” that I want more acid. I didn’t think the wine was terribly out of balance. Or have there been other vintages you’ve tried that in which you would also have preferred more acid?

        Reply
        1. lim13

          2010 and 2011…and for the 2009 that I enjoyed, I still said, “In the mouth, it’s a tad on the sweet side, but while I could stand more, there’s sufficient acidity to balance the sugar.” Guess the perfect “perfumed and fruity” white for me would be more crisp. That’s likely why I enjoy the very few bone dry Muscats I can find.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

