Ricasoli 2009 Campo Ceni Toscana

Toscana IGT, Italy; 13% ABV
$5 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 8 Sept

Ricasoli_2009_ToscanaIGTI’ve previously been dismissive of wines which take a traditional varietal, such as Tempranillo in Spain, and just added some Merlot.  But for this nice price and age, I thought I’d try a Tuscan “Sangiovese with a small amount of Merlot.”  And I like it!

I thought it needed about an hour in a decanter to start relaxing, and it kept developing nicely for the two hours after that.  At first, it showed mostly typical Sangiovese tart and riper tangy red cherries, hints of orange and leather, maybe roses.  But as it aired, the Sangiovese became more darker cherry / plum, which merged nicely into the blackberry / blackcurrant of the Merlot, finishing with nice bitter almond / wood / maybe juniper berry.  It’s not the most amazing or substantial wine, but it’s pretty good for the price if you like the tangy acid and relative structure of Italian wines.  According to the Ricasoli web site, this wine is considered fresh and ripe-fruity among their line-up.  🙂

On the second night, the second half, stoppered on initial opening in a 375ml bottle with very little air, still needed a bit of time in the glass to open up, and was nearly as good as the first half.

Update 9 Nov: I opened another bottle of this tonight, and it is too old.  I wouldn’t recommend the wine anymore.

15 thoughts on “Ricasoli 2009 Campo Ceni Toscana

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    During the sale, I noted that I had gotten another bottle of this wine. weinish replied: “Have you experienced the candied flavor that comes on the second day? I have about 6 bottles of this, and I do like it, but not as much as I did originally.” I opened the bottle tonight, and I didn’t even have to wait for the next day to tell that it, at least, is now too old. I wouldn’t recommend this wine any longer.

    Reply
    1. EHL

      Hey BW……what do you mean by this wine being “too old” now, since we all have been drinking it for only for a few months? Are you talking about the cases they have been putting out now for sale as being materially different from earlier stock that was sold?

      I also opened up a bottle of the Ricasoli recently that I purchased a while back and noticed that it didn’t seem to fare well on the second day, not like my earlier experience, and by the third day it turned very acidic and vinegar-like……ended up dumping the rest, which I am loathe to do.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Hi EHL. Thanks for asking. In this case, what I mean is that, at first, instead of being just a bit tart and closed, it started off being a little rough and out of balance. As it aired over about 1.5 hours, the fruit did indeed darken, but it just got rougher, even abrasive and more sour in an unpleasant way. While certainly not vinegar yet, it wasn’t the nicely balanced wine it was a couple months ago. The rest went into the cooking wine bottle. The usual caveat applies that there could of course be bottle variations, and if anyone has recently had a good bottle of this, please let reply and let us know. Thanks.

        Reply
  2. weinish

    I will say that I soured on this wine a little bit. Has somewhat of a candied flavor the next day, after it opens up. By no means do I dislike it, but not as much as I did at first.

    I’m on my way to Oakland GO right now, so hopefully I see some stuff I like.

    Reply
  3. Seedboy

    Opened another bottle of this and still like it. I can see getting tired of it at some point so it is probably not a case purchase. I have one bottle left but think I need three or four more.

    Reply
    1. EHL

      I like the way you think, SB………LOL! (BTW, you were right about that Bonarda 1/2 bottle from Argentina…….delish……I stand corrected.)

      Checked out the very interesting website for Ricasoli Winery, which BW generously provided, and learned a lot about Tuscany and especially Chianti, the formula for which the Baron Ricasoli allegedly institutionalized in 1872, adding to the allure of these special Sangiovese vineyards in the 2nd oldest winery in the world.

      Gee……..the worldly things you become enlightened about while browsing for cheapie wine at GO!

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        The Berkeley store still has those half bottles but charges $3.99 for them. It is funny about the “formula” for Chianti, the legal rules keep changing. No longer require adding any white grapes. Cabernet and Merlot now allowed.

        Reply
  4. EHL

    Really impressed by this Italian Red……opened a bottle last night and at first it tasted like tart raspberries on the tongue and was rather closed…….but after an hour…….whoa, it started opening with a plum, black cherry nose followed by an elegant, smooth, dark rush of restrained fruit……..very tasty!

    Will definitely be back for several more bottles.

    Reply
  5. weinish

    Worth noting, at least in my opinion, the wine was better the next day. Really opened up. I decanted it the first time and was also better. I can see why it’s on the shelves, although I don’t know the reason for sure, but this wine is quite restrained upon first sip, especially without air.

    Reply
  6. weinish

    I’m a fan of this wine. Bought 6 bottles. Pizza/pasta lifestyle, so it works for me.

    I believe it’s the oldest winery in the world, or at least one of them.

    I’ve had a number of great wines from Tuscany from ’09, even though ’10 is supposedly the better year.

    I’ll probably buy more.

    Reply
  7. seedboy

    I rather liked this wine. Blending sangiovese with cab or merlot is pretty common in Tuscany nowadays. This is from the lower end of the Ricasoli portfolio (best known for the Brolio Chianti Classico). It is not a big wine but soundly made.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

