2012 Masterpiece Vineyards Russian River Valley Zinfandel, CA $9.99

Silverdale, WA    14.5% alc.    (Purchased on 9/20/14)

IMG_1760I opened this Zin on Sunday night (9/28) when the Tin Roof Zin proved undrinkable for my wife and I and we still needed something to accompany dinner.  Clear pale garnet; lightly fruity, perfumed brambleberry nose; somewhat acidic and tannic in the mouth and lacking in the soft, rich texture I enjoy most in Zinfandels.  There is some “sweet” berryish fruit and a touch of saline quality, but it’s a bit hard and leaning toward the tart, underripe red berry end of the spectrum, rather than the more customary blackberry end.  The tannins are really rough and sharp in the finish.

There is varietal character here and perhaps because it’s only two years old, time in the cellar would bring all of its components together.  But for me, it just lacks richness and definition.  And for its $10.00 pricetag, I’m inclined to continue searching for the less expensive, but very drinkable Zins that sometimes show up at GO.  Needless to say, this was a disappointing night for me and Zinfandels.  FYI, BargainWhine reviewed the Cabernet here and the Chardonnay here.

4 thoughts on “2012 Masterpiece Vineyards Russian River Valley Zinfandel, CA $9.99

  1. jwc

    I’ve seen the Masterpiece wines at a couple of grocery stores that I shop at, ranging in price between $14-$17, so not a deal at $10 at GO, plus they don’t sound well made, major pass.
    Thanks Lim13 for taking 2 poor zins for the team.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      I do indeed, BW. Vacu-vined. And I tasted it again a short while ago. Though the tannins have softened some, it seems like the red berry (raspberry, cherry) flavors may be a bit more accentuated now, which for me would be fine if it was a Grenache or a Zin/Grenache blend. But I’m still getting little in the way of dark fruit. And I tend to agree with Seedboy too…thin in texture…and not particularly varietal.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

