2004 Dievole Il Fornaio Casannova Vineyard Chianti Classico, Tuscany, Italy $4.99

Silverdale, WA    12.5% alc.    (Purchased on 9/26/14)

IMG_1780Dievole is a highly touted Tuscan producer whose wines I’ve almost always enjoyed a great deal at regular price.  So I thought I’d give this 10 year old a shot.  Ya’ win some and ya’ lose some.

Mostly clear, but dark ruby/purple with slight brick tone around the rim.  Classic Chianti nose with dried cherry, lavender and earth aromas; in the mouth, it’s fairly tart, but soft and showing a slight saline quality along with more dried cherry and earthiness.  The tannins have pretty much faded to the background, so all-in-all the wine seems rather thin and lifeless.  A bit of mustiness shows up in the finish, though I don’t really think the wine is corked…just too old.  I bet it was pretty tasty in it’s youth, but right now it leaves me unimpressed…even with pasta and creamed tomato sauce.  While it hasn’t gone completely over the hill, I certainly cannot recommend it.

6 thoughts on “2004 Dievole Il Fornaio Casannova Vineyard Chianti Classico, Tuscany, Italy $4.99

    1. permiesworld

      On a general level I might mostly agree with this, but I don’t think it’s wise to dismiss them altogether. Just this year there have been two absolute gems (the best wines I’ve ever had from GO, period…comparing to some of the best wines in my cellar) that are 10 & 13 years old.

      The 2001 Le Riche
      https://grossoutwine.wordpress.com/2014/11/11/2001-le-riche-cabernet-sauvignon-reserve-3-99/
      And the 2004 Emigre
      https://grossoutwine.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/2004-the-colonial-estate-emigre-shiraz-blend-4-99/

      Reply
      1. seedboy

        About 4 years ago the Oakland store got someone’s cellar. I bought a mess of 1970 Bordeaux (makers I’d never heard of) and they were all delicious. Paid next to nothing for them.

        Reply
        1. permiesworld

          I believe the Emigre was a buy from a bankrupt wholesaler. Sometimes GO gets things like you mentioned or the above. You just have to be willing to search them out (or wait for them)….and hope you don’t buy too many less than desirable choices in between.

          Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      You know me, SB…very little air. But 4-5 hours later, there was little difference. And I’m not one to jump through the decanting hoops for a five dollar bottle of ten year old red that sells at regular retail for around $13. Just not my modus operandi. And I’m perfectly happy with that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

