2009 Eco.Love Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, New Zealand $3.99

Silverdale, WA    12.5% alc.    (Purchased on 9/29/14)

IMG_1782I must admit, the packaging, name and eco information on this wine initially turned me off.  The packaging brought back memories of my “hippiedom” in the late 60’s and early 70’s.  But I slowly became a bit more intrigued by the fact that (according to the back label) it’s “sustainably grown and vinified” and “made at the first carboNZero certified winery in the world.  This certification was achieved through a stingent process requiring a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions through energy-efficient initiatives and the offsetting of residual emissions via wind farm generated credits.”  Here’s a bit of information I found about the wine and the vintners (sisters).

But how about the bottle’s contents?  Brilliant pale straw.  Has a very enticing nose that typifies Marlborough Sauv Blanc in it’s gooseberry and grassy aromas, but the fruit seems so much more intense than most that I’ve had.  Add to that more tropical notes that I’ve never found in SB from this region…particularly ripe pineapple and you have a truly unique wine.  The flavors show more of the same…gooseberry and ripe pineappley sweet fruit with bracing citrusy acidity to perfectly balance it all out.  Has a long, long finish too.  This is a delicious NZ Sauvignon Blanc that I’m really lovin’…at an amazingly good price…four bucks instead of twenty!

21 thoughts on “2009 Eco.Love Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, New Zealand $3.99

  1. lim13 Post author

    Keep forgetting to mention that there is also a Riesling from this producer. Anyone out there tried it?

    Reply
  2. editgrl

    A fellow GO shopper introduced me to this wine this summer up in Santa Rosa. I was skeptical looking at the label as well, but the wine won me over, and I bought some back here in Sacramento. PW, I have to say I don’t consider it sweet at all though there is tons of fruit. A steal at $4.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      Happy to hear from you, editgrl…seems it’s been a while. Your sentence, “PW, I have to say I don’t consider it sweet at all though there is tons of fruit” pretty much sums it up. And I agree…it is indeed a steal at $4.

      Reply
  3. inthewinecountry

    Lim, I actually have seen this wine down here in Northern Cal. but didn’t want to try it because of the age. Guess I will have to look for it again and see!

    Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        Are you talking about the Winter Hill, SB? And for our readers and me, would you be a bit more specific about why you preferred the Winter Hill? I found the Eco.Love to have more pronounced flavors and the Winter Hill to be more subtle.

        Reply
          1. lim13 Post author

            Much clearer…and thanks, SB. I like “in my face”, but can appreciate that you don’t. And by the way…don’t know about CA, but here in WA they’re both $3.99.

            Reply
          2. Darrell

            SB, it doesn’t surprise me you like more subtle SB’s seeing how you like Loire SB’s. I like em both; I just use them differently.

            Reply
  4. lim13 Post author

    FYI…I called for more at Silverdale and Bremerton stores. Gone at both! If you’re one of our western WA readers, please let me know if you see it anywhere. I also spoke with a store operator in the Seattle area who never got any. But she did tell me that she just received 14 palates of wine as build-up for the coming sale, which I believe starts on Nov. 5th.

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      BTW, I’ll be in Tacoma next Saturday 10/25…so if anyone sees this wine at Lakewood or better yet, 6th Ave., please let me know.

      Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        Just wanted to send out a big thank you to Judy, the operator of the Kenmore, WA (just north of Seattle) GO for doing her very best to try and locate some of this wine for me. Unfortunately she could find none in the entire region. She’s a very nice person who’ll do whatever it takes to assist her customers.

        Reply
        1. permiesworld

          No luck here either. I just went to our stores (except Corvallis). We travel to Bellingham frequently so would have easily arranged a drop off on one of those trips, if we’d had it.

          Reply
  5. permiesworld

    TBH, I’ve found so few whites that I actually do like, that I have given up searching out anything beyond the one region & varietal that doesn’t constantly disappoint (Italy’s PG…for some reason they perfectly hit my palate. Dry and crisp without the annoying aftertastes I dislike) unless someone specifically says “you’ll like this”. You seem to have directed me to a few whites here that I’ve liked very well (Luna di Luna, the Little Rascals PG & the Lupi Reali). And your description here leans towards the same. I’ve never had a NZ wine. If it’s still there, next visit, I will pick one up. Thanks.

    Reply
  6. permiesworld

    I believe I saw this yesterday at our local store. And your description makes me wish I hadn’t passed it by. I don’t mind fruit forward wines but I don’t like sweet. I’m trying to judge, by your description where this falls…would you mind elaborating just a bit?

    Reply
    1. lim13 Post author

      I don’t perceive any residual sugar in the wine, PW. And there’s a pretty high level of acidity. For four bucks, give it a try. You’ve got little to lose…though, if you’re not a lover of NZ Sauv Blancs in general, you’ll likely not enjoy this one either. BTW, though it really provides little specific info on the wines, I did find their website here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

