2010 Buena Vista Sonoma Merlot, CA $4.99

Silverdale, WA    13.5% alc.    (Purchased on 9/24/14)

IMG_1774Clear medium ruby/garnet.  Nose doesn’t do much for me…a slight touch of sulfur (which quickly blows off) and a bit of varnishy chemical quality; almost half chemical, half perfume.  First impression on the palate is lots and lots of forward sweet fruit with dark Bing cherry, blackberry, blueberry and dark plum.  There’s some black tea and nicely balanced toasty oak too.  Medium tannins and acidity and a certain richness with slight bitterness in the finish.  Even though that perfumey quality is still there in the mouth, the flavors are immensely better than the nose, but not sure I could get past the nose in another bottle.   I suspect that some of our readers are going to really like this Merlot, but I just can’t completely enjoy it even though I really like the texture.

4 thoughts on “2010 Buena Vista Sonoma Merlot, CA $4.99

  1. lim13 Post author

    Could be. It’s really hard to say, as it’s pretty subtle. I’ve detected this aroma (and flavors) many times before, so I pick it up readily…but I suspect most wouldn’t even notice (which is why I said that some of our readers will likely enjoy this Merlot). I don’t believe it’s a stylistic thing and if it’s a fault…it’s a small one. The wine just doesn’t cut it for me.

    Reply
      1. lim13 Post author

        What I got was definitely not that intense, but appreciate the examples, Darrell. I believe I used nail polish remover when conducting component tasting classes years ago. Thank God I never grew fond of it.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

