2011 Montemar Andes Curico Valley Harmonia Red Blend, Chile $3.99

Silverdale, WA    13.5% alc.    (Purchased on 10/6/14)

IMG_178635% Syrah 35% Malbec 30% Cabernet Franc     Clear dark ruby with a pink rim.  After about 45 minutes, it has a pleasant enough nose of cherry, licorice, tobacco, mint and just a hint of bell pepper.  In the mouth, the bell pepper comes through much stronger, especially on the front of the palate, but the flavors also show cherry, raspberry, espresso and leather.  The tannins are light, but noticeable and provide body and texture.  The moderate acidity gives the wine tang and balance.  Really no bell pepper at all in the finish.  I’m no fan of that quality, but I didn’t find it to be so strong as to be offensive.  So I really enjoyed this red blend and I haven’t generally said that about Chilean reds.  One suggestion: this wine started losing flavors and weight the next day.  Drink up!

I re-read BW’s review of the 2010 Harmonia after I finished my review and can certainly see similarities…though, thankfully I got no sulfur in this vintage/bottle.  BW also reviewed the 2010 Carmenere here.  Montemar just may be the GO “go to” red from Chile.  (P.S. Label is actually white not blue…thanks to my prowess as a photographer!)

2 thoughts on “2011 Montemar Andes Curico Valley Harmonia Red Blend, Chile $3.99

    1. lim13 Post author

      Welcome BWCW! And thanks for your input. We’ve heard little from Madrona GO readers, so nice to hear from you. Glad you too enjoyed this wine. Funny, because I’ve never been a fan of Chilean reds. I generally prefer their whites and Argentinian reds. This one was an exception for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

