Hart & McGarry 2011 Chardonnay

North Coast, California; 13.7% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 24 Oct

HartMcGarry_2011_ChardonnayAfter the delicious Hart & McGarry 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon, I thought I’d try their Chardonnay, too.  I was not as wowed by this wine, but I thought it was still pretty good for the money.

The wine needs a little bit of air (just from what gets into the bottle when you pour out some wine) to show a somewhat unusual and interesting Chardonnay.  An elegantly long, delineated taste starts with less-intense, lighter yellow apple and lemon, a richer golden kiwi / yellow grape skin, and a slightly odd but not exactly unpleasant musty cherimoya (a tangy, white-fleshed tropical fruit) / savory oak.  It’s in between a ripely heavy Chardonnay and a lean, crisp one.  Although when thinking about it, I deemed it perhaps a little strange, I otherwise found myself happily quaffing it, so I have to go with a moderate Thumbs Up.

2 thoughts on “Hart & McGarry 2011 Chardonnay

  1. permiesworld

    Tasted this tonight. It’s an odd one. Doesn’t really taste like Chardonnay and doesn’t really taste like anything else (other whites) I’m familiar with. Tart (really tart for Chard) and somewhat sweet (too sweet for me) without any Chard butter. Reminded me of a pineapple jolly rancher. Decided to open another bottle of Luna di Luna PG instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

