2004 The Colonial Estate Emigré Shiraz Blend $4.99

The Colonial Estate
14.5% ABV
Purchased: Albany, OR 11-5-2014

IMG_0591I would so like to title this “Run, don’t walk, to your nearest Grocery Outlet and buy this wine!” It is possibly the best bargain I’ve ever had on a good wine. It wasn’t on the shelf. The owner told me they had it in the back because they only got two “boxes” (see photo) and each box only had 6 bottles; so, my recommendation, ASK if they have any in the back! We decided to have this tonight to see if I would regret not buying the rest of it (I always think that there should be some left for someone else). Plus I wanted to get the review up, in case any of you might want to pick some up.

Firstly, as I mentioned on the Wine Sale thread…I don’t normally drink Australian wines. Mostly because of the predominant vegetal character that never seems balanced out by fruit (in the bottles I’ve tried). Secondly, I rarely drink Shiraz/Syrah. It’s not that I don’t like it, I just prefer Cabernet.

Online, this wine lists for $65$109 (current prices) per bottle. That alone caused me to purchase it and I’m so glad I did. For $3.99 (after sale price), I wondered if it’d gone off, gotten old or been badly handled. Thankfully, none of the above is true.

I rarely am enthusiastic here. I like things; sometimes I really like things but this is just a combination of “liking a lot” and an excellent bargain that makes me enthusiastic.

As to the wine, there is a lot of sediment. Definitely don’t decant this traditionally (without a strainer) or pour without something like a winefiner. Color is dark, slight bricking but not bad.
We tasted so many things here…herbal, grass, spice, earth, mineral, fruit…even bacon (odd but not unpleasant). It’s hot…slightly unbalanced but honestly we enjoyed it so it isn’t going to last in the glass long enough to have time to balance out. Some people would say it has “very long legs”. I bet it would be more balanced after air. I expected it to be sweet but it wasn’t. The layers of taste balanced out the fruit well enough to keep it from being a fruit bomb. As it opens up (it’s been open for about an hour and a half) it’s smoothing out a bit. It’s more of a medium mouthfeel to me, not full but still satisfying. I think it’s got a few years left in it…but I’m just going to say it’s incredibly good.

This is a quote I found online from Wine Advocate:
“The 2004 Emigre, a Rhone-based blend of Grenache, Shiraz, and Mourvedre as well as Carignan and Cabernet Sauvignon, exhibits a sweet perfume of graphite, black fruits, sweet cherries, licorice, smoke, and background vanillin. Full-bodied, rich, textured, and impressively long, it should drink well for 10-15 years … minimum.” – Robert Parker, Wine Advocate #167 (Oct 2006)

FWIW, there were still 5 bottles left at Albany, OR as of this afternoon.

25 thoughts on “2004 The Colonial Estate Emigré Shiraz Blend $4.99

  1. permiesworld Post author

    Well I do have a little good news for anyone who’s remotely local. Sue from Salem sold me 3 bottles of this wine today (I was going to run back up there and pick it up but a friend of mine was in the area and just delivered them to my door)…she has no more. One is going to (that very same) local wine friend. And, I was thinking we’d be up Lim13’s way but it turns out we won’t be and he won’t be down here any time soon (though Lim13, if you want me to hold it for you, that’s not a problem either) so that means that there are mostly likely two bottles I’d be willing to part with if anyone wants to make arrangements to meet at one of the GO’s at some point. JWC or Ashlander, I know you are both locally looking for this wine…so I’m just throwing it out there, if either of you thinks it’s worth a drive.

    EHL, I’d send it to you (or any of the CA guys looking for it) but the alcohol laws prohibit shipment, so unless you are going to be in the Mid Willamette valley any time soon, sadly it won’t do you any good.

    UPDATE: All of the extra bottles have new homes now.

    Reply
    1. EHL

      Hey PW……thanks very much for your generous offer and thoughtfulness…….but I agree it’s just too difficult logistically……and, moreover, I think someone up above likes you folks in Oregon and it was meant to be your special blessing……GO DUCKS!

      ;}

      Reply
      1. lim13

        If we ever get to meet, PW…how ’bout if we just share one of yours? I promise to bring a bottle of something from my cellar to share too! : ~) That way someone else can have that last bottle.

        Reply
  2. lim13

    Though it means little to me, I see Parker scored it a 94. I must admit, with all the negative comments I’ve read on our blog over the last few years about Parker and his big fruit tastes, I’m a bit surprised at all the excitement over this wine.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      I admit, I never expected I’d like it like I do. It’s just not a fruit bomb. I’m quite familiar with his California favorite styles and this is so different. It’s really got so many layers of flavors…not just “in your face fruit”. LOL I’m actually shocked he rated it so high, except that it is a high alcohol wine. I guess there are anomalies in every area, eh?

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine

        OTOH, I have had poured for me the 1990 JL Chave Hermitage. It was funky, tangy, spiced, tart and ripe. One of the most amazing wines I have tasted. The person from whose collection it came said that Parker had said it was the wine he would most like to have in his cellar. Yet it was certainly not a “Parkerized” wine. Probably there is more to his taste than the possible broad effect of his work.

        Reply
        1. permiesworld Post author

          That’s a very good point, BW. Sometimes it’s hard not to make generalizations.

          Sounds like that wine was an extremely cool experience…I’ve never tasted a $600 a bottle wine (what that one seems to be running at auction now).

          Reply
    2. EHL

      My reaction is based upon PW’s review and taste, both of which I respect, not the Parker score…..in addition to the incredible bargain she got…..$25 for six bottles (encased in wood)
      retailing upwards of $600+……..that sounds like serendipity mixed with good karma……and I could certainly use a little of that, along with the wine, too……

      Reply
      1. lim13

        Which is certainly as it should be, EHL…determining whether you might like the wine based on PW’s (and perhaps Parker’s) review, not scores. I was just curious because Parker seems to get bashed a lot here. But I also appreciate the comments above (from PW and BW) about generalizations and “in your face fruit”. And while I don’t follow Parker, I find that often I like the same wines he likes. BTW, I called the Silverdale store this morning and they have neither seen nor heard anything of this wine. Always gets me wondering (even though we’ve had these discussions before)…how does GO get its hands on a wine like this? What circuitous route did it follow to get to an Oregon GO?

        Reply
        1. EHL

          Yes, Lim…..finding a wine of that caliber at GO for a pittance seems like an episode straight out of the Twilight Zone…..and you guys up North certainly can’t complain that you don’t get your share of the spoils……LOL.

          Reply
  3. EHL

    Damn……what a find…….good for you, PW!

    If anyone finds it down here in the SF Bay area, let me know and maybe we can work out a deal….LOL.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      EHL, I was just reading your post on the Wine Sale thread. Does this sound like the Shiraz that you used to drink? This one wine re-opened my mind towards AU wines, that’s for sure.

      Reply
      1. EHL

        Hey PW……it was very good wine, but I’m pretty sure we weren’t drinking $65-quality, ten-year-old Shirazs like your Colonial Estate Emigre while munching on scrumptious fish and chips……LOL.

        You may have just discovered the “FIND” of the year……the GOs I’ve contacted down here know nothing of that bottle…..but I told them to buy lots if they run across it on the distribution order list!

        Reply
  4. jwc

    I saw the Emigre last night in Beaverton, and thought it would be there today. I got there too late, gone. Didn’t see much of anything else, I did pick up a California 2012 Josh Pinot Noir, also a Blackstone Malvasia at $4.99, minus the 20%.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      Oh that’s such a bummer. I am really hoping someone from here will pick some up. I’m not surprised at all though, that it sold so quickly. I was lucky. Had no idea what it was but happened to be at the right place/right time.

      I almost bought that Josh Pinot Noir. I just purchased so much today that I passed (but it is on my future to buy list…now pending your review). I didn’t see the Blackstone Malvasia at any of our stores.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

