Buonocore 2010 Barbera

Sierra Foothills, CA; 13.7% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 Nov

Buonocore_2010_BarberaThis wine was pretty good from first pour and continued to improve for about two hours in a decanter.  This fruit-dominated wine showed at least a couple layers of tangier red cherries, riper and tart.  Over time, these flavors darkened to more purple cherries heading toward plum, with some jammy ripeness, but still including the acid of ripe tart pie cherries.  Even though this was from the Sierra Foothills, it was not overly ripe and heavy, and was instead nicely delineated.

The next day, the second half (stoppered in a 375ml bottle with very little air) was at least as good.  The fruit is nicely delineated, with flavors of cherry, maybe strawberry, black raspberry, plum, orange peel / rusty earth.  The acid is more zingy than on the first night.  At first, I thought the strong acid was a sign of its becoming too old.  However, although I don’t think it really tastes like that, I wouldn’t wait to drink it.  While good on its own, it’s likely better with food.

There is a Buonocore Zinfandel from Lodi (rather different climate) that I haven’t tried, and which seems to be more plentiful, but if you see this Barbera, I definitely recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Buonocore 2010 Barbera

  1. Helen Grice Russo

    We tried the zinfandel last night (bought at the Seaside, CA store). It’s nice, not as much spice as I like, made on the lighter side with more fruit. The one thing I noticed is I got a bit of a sulfite flush but I had also finished off a different wine, so … I don’t know it it was it. It’s something I might buy again if there isn’t much else in that price range AND the second half doesn’t cause a reaction. Otherwise I’ll give it a pass. My husband liked it more than me, but he’s not as picky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

