2011 Tableaux Saint Mont White, France $3.99

Silverdale, WA    13% alc.    (Purchased on 11/6/14)

80% Gros Manseng 15% Petit Courbu 5% Arrufiac   I’ve been into wine for nearly 40 years…where have all these grape varieties been hiding?  I became familiar with Gros Manseng just a couple of weeks ago when Permiesworld reviewed a wine that contained it.  But this is the first I’ve heard of the other two varieties.  And even the region of Saint Mont  in southwestern France is new to me.  Thank God for Grocery Outlet.  I feel like a virgin wine student!  The label on this white really turns me off, as does most of the label info.  But I did enjoy this one bit from the back label: “You shouldn’t need a PhD in French existentialist  philosophy to pick a wine for your next get-together.  But, if you happen to be a philosophy professor or someone who professes philosophy, please email us immediately and let us know why we’re all here: why@tableauxwines.com”

IMG_1849So…the wine: Brilliant pale straw and when first opened, it had a strong  match stick sulfury nose that eventually blows off.  But I also believe that the slightly stinky aroma is somewhat inherent with the varieties used in this blend, as I’ve found it in other dry whites from the surrounding region (Gascony).  The difference is that the other similar whites I’ve had usually end up showing more fruit in the bouquet.  After about 45 minutes, it begins to show some fruity, floral tones.  In the mouth, this wine is bone dry and somewhat high in acidity…another oyster wine.  The flavors are tangy lemon juice, flintstone, some stone fruit (peach/apricot) and minerality.  It’s a very simple white that just isn’t doing anything for me.  Because it’s soundly made, I’ll stretch and give it a low Drinkable.  But a Thumbs Down is lurking around the corner.

One thought on “2011 Tableaux Saint Mont White, France $3.99

  1. lim13 Post author

    FYI…I returned the remainder of my bottle…about 75%…for a refund. And left with two bottles of another wine I enjoyed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

