Hess Select 2011 Chardonnay

Monterey County, CA; 13.3% ABV; screw cap
$3 for 375ml at the Oakland, CA, store on 5 Nov

HessSelect_2011_ChardSomeone here commented briefly that they didn’t think much of this wine, so I left it alone until another GO customer recommended it to me during the sale.  Myself, I’m more with the commenter here.

The nose has milder but typical Chardonnay flavors of ripe yellow apple, pear, and lemon.  On the palate, it shows textured flavors of the same, plus well-integrated supporting oak, with acid of lemon with some lime, and a nice minerality.  While clearly a pretty nice Chardonnay, the fruit strikes me as a bit washed out and perhaps a little too acid.  It does seem to be reasonably substantial, but leaving some of a half bottle to try the next day is asking too much.  🙂  I can’t quite give it a Thumbs Up myself, but I can see how some folks would be enthusiastic about it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

