Risorgimento 2010 Barbaresco

Barbaresco DOCG, Piedmont, (northwest) Italy; 14% ABV
$12 at the Oakland, CA, store on 7 Nov

Risorgimento_2010_BarbarescoThe 2010 and 2011 Risorgimento Barbarescos have been around for a good while now, and I believe Seedboy recommended the 2010.  (Robert Parker’s vintage chart, linked to in the right margin, gives 2010 a “95T” and 2011 a “90T,” where “T” is for “tannic, youthful, or slow to mature.”)  I finally picked one up during the recent sale.  It struck me as a bit young, but quite tasty once it finally aired.

I opened this on Thanksgiving, thinking to substitute this lighter-bodied, aromatic red (made from the Nebbiolo grape) for the more traditional lighter-bodied, aromatic, Pinot Noir.  It didn’t work because, even after sitting in a decanter for about four hours, the wine had not really opened.  I put the rest, about 40% of it, back in the bottle and put the cork back in.

The next day, that remainder still had not opened.  I poured it back into a decanter and tried it a few hours later.  It had finally opened and was really quite good!  It showed delicious flavors of ripe, dark red cherries, tangy tart cherries, leather, earth, a little orange, all nicely integrated and elegant.  If I were going to open another soon, I’d probably put it in a covered decanter for a day, and then open the decanter a few hours before drinking it.  However, I’d most likely instead put it in cool storage for at least a few years.

Egads!  Lim13 has already reviewed this wine here.

4 thoughts on “Risorgimento 2010 Barbaresco

  1. weinish

    I’m into it. I wish it was a few dollars cheaper. It’s $10.99 at San Leandro, $11.99 at Oakland.

    It opens up quickly. Could drink this every day…and do 🙂

    There’s a 2010 and 2011.

    Reply
      1. weinish

        I do now.

        2010 is proving itself to be the best Italian vintage maybe ever. Wines of Piedmont and Tuscany have been unbelievable, especially when you consider the news about the higher end Barolos and Brunellos.

        I’m at the point where I’m willing to try nearly any 2010 red from Chianti, Montalcino, etc, and the same goes with all of Piedmont.

        This 2010 Barbaresco has been the best wine I’ve ever consistently purchased at GO. And while it is priced high for GO, it’s well worth the price from a comparative standpoint. It does surprise me that the San Leandro store sells it for 1 dollar less. I think that’s complete bullshit, but whatever.

        I just purchased the Gergenti 2010 Sangiovese – Nero d’Avolo from Sicily. Not sure how that’s going to turn out, and most of the reviews are from Swiss/German sites so it’s hard to know. But like the rest of Italy, I’m hopeful 2010 was good for Sicily too.

        Reply
        1. seedboy

          Weinish, $10.99 was the original price for the 2010. When the 2011 came in for $1 more, some of the stores increased the 2010 price, but San Leandro did not. I agree, it is a lovely wine.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

