Marnà 2010 Bianco

Collio DOC, (northeastern) Italy;  from Ca’ Ronesca
Pinot Blanc and Malvasia Istriana; 14% ABV
$9 at the Richmond, CA, store on 26 Nov

Marna_2010_BiancoI picked this up because I had liked the Sariz 2008 Rosso, from the same producer.  Seedboy had commented, “This is a fresh and lively Northern Italian wine, nicely balanced, delicious. At $8.99, though, I’m not likely to buy more.”  I have to agree: it was nicely complex and tasty if you ponder it a bit, but to me not very exciting.

The wine showed flavors of yellow and green — pear, apple, and some melon — with supporting oak, in a body heavier but still with a good amount of acid to balance.  However, it struck me as a little disjoint, with the acid not doing much to bring out the other flavors a little more buried in there.  Overall, it seemed a bit dull.

However, in looking up this producer, I found notes from the Wine Advocate’s Monica Larner about the 2001 vintage (!) of this wine: “A single-vineyard expression of Pinot Bianco and Malvasia Istriana, the 2001 Collio Marna is an important white wine that is showing beautifully right now. This oak-aged white opens to a deep, off-gold color and shapely aromas of exotic fruit, candied pineapple, saffron, cinnamon stick, honey and chewy caramel. There’s an oxidized quality that plays off nicely here rendering a feeling of thickness and rich smoothness. From a classic vintage, Marna is a unique white wine that combines the steady power of Pinot Bianco and the delicate fragrances of Malvasia Istriana. Drink: 2014-2017.  Parker’s vintage chart (linked to in the lower right margin) gives 2001 Collio whites an “88C” (for Caution may be too old) and the 2010 a “94R” (for Ready to drink), so who knows?  This might just need more age to integrate and come forth.

8 thoughts on “Marnà 2010 Bianco

  1. DavidLikesWine

    Opened a bottle of this tonight (purchased on the most recent sale). Time might have been what it needed. The wine has delicate floral notes with some candied / honeyed fruit notes and wonderfully balanced acidity. More full bodied than a Sauvignon Blanc, but not, in my opinion, overly-heavy like some California chardonnay, I think this is a really neat alternative to the usual summer suspects. My remaining bottles will not survive the coming warmer months.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi David. Thank you very much for this report! Maybe I don’t need to keep it in cool storage for years. 🙂

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    First, I had been planning to get another bottle of this wine during the winter sale, but since it turns out there won’t be a winter sale, I may get another bottle or two the next time I’m at the Richmond store.

    Second, one of the people I have run into in GO wine aisles is a wine manager at a nearby Trader Joe’s. In a discussion about Chardonnays, she mentioned a Picpoul de Pinet that TJ’s got in recently that she liked a lot. Finding it at my neighborhood TJ’s for $8, I got a bottle as a sort of comparison to what the GO sells for $9. Answer: The Picpoul is more overtly delicious, with flavors of yellow apple, lemon, an accent of very ripe pineapple, and a little minerality, with bright acid, in a nice, liquidy body. However, I think the Marnà is the more substantial and interesting wine, with more depth and potential for aging. My choice between them would be based on what I wanted: a delicious wine to serve right away, especially to guests, or a wine to ponder and perhaps age for a while.

    Reply
  3. permiesworld

    Did you save any for day two? This sounds like a white that I’d like. I pretty much enjoy the non-intrusive ones and am in love with the Italian styles (for the most part). I’m curious if it morphs into more character as it’s open?

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Regrettably, no. Despite my lackluster opinion, we downed it all in one night. Seedboy, were you able to note how it evolved over more than one day?

      Reply
      1. seedboy

        I don’t remember any specifics about this wine on the second day, other than that I liked it and wished it weren’t so expensive.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

