2013 Bodegas Mureda Tempranillo Otoño

Imported by: Independence Imports (Miami)
13% ABV
Purchased: Salem, OR 11-5-2014

FullSizeRender 3Well, any time I see a Spanish Tempranillo, I’m going to try it (if at all possible). I saw this during the wine sale and purchased it without googling. It didn’t help to google it later, there’s little to no info (unless I’m typing in the wrong info) online.

The back label boasts “Otoño wines are young, fresh and vibrant, perfect for any occasion.”  This surprised me. So much is made of “old vine” wine…that I wondered why they were touting young vines. With “old vine”, the grapes have been tried and the vines pruned to produce well, year after year. There is no exact age definition for “old vine”. It could be 20 years in a region relatively new to wine, it could be 50-150+ years (apparently some grapevines in the Barossa Valley have vines that are still commercially producing that were planted in 1847) in longstanding wine-producing regions. So with no actual age definition to “old vine” then I believe we can safely say that there is no actual age definition to “young vine” either.  From what I gather, the main benefit to old vine is that you know what it’s going to do, it has taken root firmly and withstood generations of weather. It’s hearty. Young vines obviously have not gone through the stress that the old vines have. Whether that gives them an edge or a disadvantage, only a wine maker could truly tell you.

As to taste? Weather, the skills of the wine maker, the quality of materials used, proper sorting/separation etc….they (IMO) have more to do with the taste than the vine age itself. I could be wrong and welcome any other input on this interesting subject.

As to this specific wine, it says “Otoño Tempranillo” which translates to Autumn Tempranillo. I listed the importer at the top because I am unsure of the vineyard/winery who makes it. Screw top cap. I do not think this is 100% Tempranillo, the taste is just wrong for 100% (it reminds me more of under-ripe Sangiovese).

Color: Burgundy/plum
Nose: A bit yeasty, black fruit.
Taste: Under-ripe cherry (lots of this). Tart. Dry.

It’s too fruity for traditional Tempranillo, too sour cherry. No layers, no earth, no leather, no darker fruit to balance it or make it interesting.  I wonder if it’s another one of those efforts (I came across one from Trader Joe’s recently) to move to a trendier new taste for a traditional-style wine? Or if it’s another bottle gone off? In any case, I’m not a fan.

4 thoughts on “2013 Bodegas Mureda Tempranillo Otoño

    1. permiesworld Post author

      Right, I caught that. I am just not sure if I was “auto-corrected” (wines for vines) or if I misread it and yet typed it properly.

      My computer edits me if it thinks I’m saying something I don’t mean, even if the word is real (it’s a Mac Yosemite spelling/grammar combined setting…I haven’t figured out how to turn the grammar part off without turning off the spell check). Until I can look at a bottle I won’t know if this is what happened or if I typed it properly (I got it off the label, not the web) and it didn’t penetrate my brain properly, which is equally possible and I can only hope senility is not setting in. lol!

      Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      You know, I’ll check the bottle next time I’m at GO (don’t have it any longer, I’m not a returner) just to be sure but I believe it said vines. Otherwise, just ignore the “vine tangent” LOL! Although, I will say that the best part of this wine was being spurred to read up on old and young vines. At least I learned something from the experience. On the other hand, this particular wine wasn’t worth the effort of the expanded review, if it didn’t say “young vine”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

