BB King’s Signature Collection 2010 Red

made from Garnacha (Grenache), Cabernet Sauvignon, and Syrah; 13.5% ABV
produced and bottled by Bodega Santa Cruz de Alpera, Almansa DO, Spain
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 Jan

BBKingSigColl_2010_RedWhen I saw this wine, I thought looked like a potential, good GO find: a weird little batch of wine named after BB King, but made in Almansa DO, Spain.  The wine’s color through the bottle was dark, so it appeared to have some substance to it.  Unfortunately, it wound up not providing much pleasure.

When I first opened it, I poured off a quarter of it into a single-glass screwcap bottle for another night.  The color was indeed a nice dark purple, and the wine had a nice nose of dark purple fruit, earth, and a little spice.  I put the rest in a decanter (no sediment), guessing it would take 1.5 – 2 hours to open.  It did open up some, showing flavors of medium-dark plum, redder boysenberry, hibiscus tea, plum skin / pit, and a little spicy earth.  However, it still seemed a bit reserved and certainly quite tart.  As it wasn’t very pleasant to drink, I just covered the decanter for the night and had a beer.  🙂

I finished the wine over four days total, and it was always rather reserved and too acid for my taste.  Same story with the saved single-glass bottle.  It seems to me there’s a pretty good wine in there somewhere, that might come out with a few more years of age in cool storage, but for now, I can’t recommend it.  I’m not even sure it actually would improve with age.

Leave a Reply

