Château Riotor 2012 rosé

Côtes de Provence, France; 13% ABV
the vineyard consists of 45% Grenache, 40% Cinsault, 10% Syrah, 5% Rolle (Vermentino); actual annual blend varies slightly
$6 at the Oakland, CA, store on 13 Jan

IMG_1377When I saw this southern French rosé, with its delicate salmon color, I jumped on it.  It’s not quite what I was hoping it would be, but it’s excellent in a different way.

For a while, I had taken to airing such wines, in  a decanter in the fridge, for a while before drinking.  I considered doing so with this wine, but it turned out to be unnecessary.  It was quite good from first pour.  To my taste, the it was better considerably warmed from fridge temperature, when it showed ethereal flavors of cantaloupe, white jasmine, pink roses, and red and blue berries, nicely balanced with pink grapefruit acid.  It’s dry but not austere or very structured, with a slight fleshiness in the body.  I think my previous favorite southern French rosé was the LaRoche 2011 Rosé de la Chevalière.  It was more structured and delineated, but not as delicate and lovely as this wine.  Usually, I have tried to pair rosés with things like squid, anchovies, ham, or some combination thereof.  This wine probably needs less intense fare, such as lighter salmon or opah.  None of my bottle survived until the next day, but I will try to get back for more.

8 thoughts on “Château Riotor 2012 rosé

  1. Seedboy

    I like this wine a lot. It is in nice shape for being almost two years behind vintage, pretty color, tasty. Good fruit still, some might think it is sweet but I think that is just fruit

    Reply
      1. Don Bevins

        I noticed this at Roseville Square today. It was a bottom shelf item so it should be around for awhile.
        Plenty of interesting new things at the Rocklin store–Graham Beck South Africa Chardonnay
        $4.00, Niner Syrah and Petite Sirah $8.00, L’ecole Washington Columbia Valley Chardonnay $5.00, Oppotimo8 zinfinity $6.00.
        Eighth Wonder South African Chardonnay, $6.00, and some Mc Williams Australian wines. Beware of the chardonnay as they may have bad synthetic corks.

        Reply
        1. lim13

          I’m seriously surprised to see any L’Ecole wines at GO. Do you know the vintage, Don? Or if the old kid’s drawing of the schoolhouse was on the label rather than the current photo of the schoolhouse. L’Ecole is considered to be one of the more prestigious Walla Walla wineries and owner/winemaker Marty Clubb is president of the WA Wine Institute. Curious as to what the story behind the Chardonnay at GO is.

          Reply
            1. lim13

              Weird. Thanks. Please let me know if you try a bottle. Chardonnay is low on my list of favored varietals…even from L’Ecole. So it’d have to be pretty damn good for me to buy any. As whites go, I’d take their Semillon or Chenin Blanc any day. And their reds can be real killers.

Leave a Reply

