MSH Cellars Sauvignon Blanc 2009 $8.99

Produced/bottled by: MSH Cellars, Calistoga, CA
ABV 13.8%
Purchased: Albany, OR 1-16-2013

FullSizeRender 3I wasn’t sure whether to bite on this one or not, but we are having sushi tonight and none of the other whites grabbed my fancy. The 2009 was what made me hesitate, coupled with the fact that it was $9. 2009 is rather old for an SB, IMO, but that being said, according to information online, MSH is the secondary label of Source Napa or Gamble Family Vineyards. This Yountville Sauvignon Blanc was made from their holdings in Napa. I was intrigued. I have a few Cabs from Yountville aging at present, one of them is an older Gamble Family CS. It has a good pedigree, so I thought we’d try this.

Composition: 96% Sauvignon Blanc, 4% Semillon

Color: Pale greenish-yellow
Nose: Unimpressive, fruit and a bit of mineral.
Taste: 2 years ago, Cellartracker contributors said this was going down hill. It doesn’t taste like it to me. I taste pear, tropical fruit and a bit of minerality. It’s fruit forward but dry, crisp yet smooth and doesn’t have a heavy alcohol taste, nor does it have any weird or chemical aftertaste. I really expected it to be “past it” but I actually think it has aged quite nicely.  At least our bottle was well cared for because there isn’t any sign of oxidation.

So, in reference to Darrell’s comment earlier, to my surprise, I don’t think it’s time to pull the plug on this one yet. We finished it with our dinner and enjoyed it. I think it’s a bit overpriced for GO, but given how well it’s aging,  I see why. SRP Is $13-16.

3 thoughts on “MSH Cellars Sauvignon Blanc 2009 $8.99

  1. GOWineLover

    I remember seeing and having this Sauv Blanc 2 years ago (or more) at GO. Remember liking but not loving it.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      Pretty much that’s where we also landed. But then again, I bought it to serve with food. I don’t drink white wine without food (except Cava, I wish all white wine would taste as dry, crisp & minerally as the Cava we’ve enjoyed). But we liked this fine. It paired well with the sushi.

      and Seedboy, I don’t remember that Rose. It might have been before my time here. So far I’ve only really enjoyed a few Spanish Rosadas; I mostly choose poorly where other Rose is concerned (so far the Spanish ones haven’t let me down). For other regions, I almost always pick the too sweet or cloying options.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

