Pannunzio Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 $5.99

Produced/bottled by: Lujan de Cuyo for Lafonte SRL
ABV 14.5%
Purchased: 1-26-2015 Albany OR GO

FullSizeRender 4I opened this wine to see if it needed a decant before dinner. We’re having smoked duck breast and the person at the charcuterie recommended a full-bodied, robust red without much oak presence (or a light to medium red with an earthy presence). Because most of my big reds show at least a moderate amount of oak…I decided to open this.

To be concise, thumbs down, across the board. There’s something wrong with my bottle, or rather many things.

The cork was a “cork-burger” (as I’ve heard it termed around here…very difficult to get out and what did come out, came in pieces).

Nose: Lets just say that this wine showed everything I hate…rhubarb, stewed fruit, bell pepper.

Color: Cloudy, brick-red.
Taste: Given the nose, the taste was better than I expected but still off. Sour cherry predominantly. But I could actually taste that there was potential in this wine.

I wonder if it was one of the casualties from the western coast ports, long shore-man strike that I keep reading about. It tastes like it sat in a hot car or container for too long.

In any case, my bottle is not drinkable.  Hopefully JWC will find his bottle to be un-flawed and be able to deliver a better overall picture of the wine.

And sadly, I am on hiatus until the cellar gets manageable, so this is it for me, at least for a while. Too bad I don’t have any more of that Mayerdale Pinot Noir in the house. It would have been perfect for dinner!

7 thoughts on “Pannunzio Cabernet Sauvignon 2008 $5.99

  1. jwc

    My cork disintegrated trying to open, dried to the max. Attached a Haley’s corker, tasted. Bell pepper aromas and tannic. Taking this back, over the hill.

    Reply
    1. lim13

      Two bottles, two crumbly, dry corks…not a good thing! Should this make it’s way north, I’ll wave as I go by.

      Reply
  2. lim13

    Last part first: my 6 year old reference had nothing to do with the ageability of Argentine Cabs. I suspect the current vintage of most of their Cabs is 2010-2012, so a 2008 probably hasn’t seen a cargo ship in a few years. It has more likely been sitting in a US warehouse somewhere.

    And I’m guessing that GO wines likely get to their Vancouver warehouse by land in semi-trucks i.e from the production facility or distributor onto a semi and then driven to a store or stores. With gas prices as low as they are right now, it amazes me that they transport domestically made products like TJ’s ravioli on ships, but I obviously don’t know enough about retail transport.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      Good point re: the hanging about in a warehouse.

      Re: the other, what you say makes sense, I’m just repeating what the guys at WM and TJ’s said. The wine guy at WM is frustrated about his lack of stock.

      Reply
  3. lim13

    At six years old, I’d say it’s more likely that the problem is related to where it’s been stored since arriving on our shores i.e. distributor warehouse, retail warehouse etc…or the wine itself.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld Post author

      Hmmm. It’s entirely possible. I was talking to a Trader Joe’s guy and they have some mushroom ravioli that they ordered that is just “sitting in it’s container on the docks, waiting to be processed…” so that’s what made me wonder re: the wine. World Market is also having issues with obtaining the wines that they ordered back in October. I know you mentioned that ours funnel out of Vancouver but they have to come in to Vancouver somehow.

      In reference to the 6 years old…are Argentine Cabs not meant to age then? (You know I’m mainly a Napa person, this isn’t my area…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

