Rio Seco 2011 Pinot Noir

Argentina; 13% ABV
$4 at the Oakland, CA, store on 20 Jan

IMG_1382[1]About his bottle of this wine, Lim13 wrote: Took my Rio Seco PN 1.5 liter to a Superbowl party on 2/1/15. We all thought it was varietal and pleasant enough, but on the light, thin side. Worked great for quaffing at a party, but no more for me.

I was pretty sure JWC had written something similar, but I couldn’t find it.  Anyway, I thought this wine had been a quite tasty Pinot Noir for the price, but was unfortunately slightly too old.

I decanted it off sediment that did not taste bad, but was a bit “muddy.”  The wine was okay at first pour, showing varietally true Pinot Noir of tangy darker red cherries and earthy pinot funk / aged complexity, in a lighter medium body.  However, I thought the fruit became sweeter and richer, with part of the cherry heading more toward plum, and the wine overall more elegant, after about 90 minutes in a decanter.  Part of the tangy flavor tended toward vinegar, but not strongly enough to stop us from enjoying it reasonably well.  If you’re not too sensitive to that flavor, this could be a reasonable buy for the price, but drink it up right away!  I’d be worried about getting a magnum of this if it weren’t for a large party.

A day or two later, however, the saved single-glass screw-cap bottle had that vinegary tangy-ness a bit over the top for me.  The wine was otherwise very tasty, but I couldn’t drink all that much or it.

3 thoughts on “Rio Seco 2011 Pinot Noir

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Pretty much. I used most of that saved small bottle in a red pasta sauce as a lighter substitute for balsamic.

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        I make my own vinegar, and like to have pinot noir vinegar around the house. I think that these mags have disappeared though.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

