Apaltagua 2013 Riesling Reserva

Curicó Valley Estate Grown, Chile; 13.5% ABV
imported by Global Vineyard, Berkeley, CA
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 March

Apaltagua_2013_RieslingReservaI have liked Chilean Sauvignon Blancs, so I thought I’d try this Chilean Riesling, especially since I couldn’t recall having seen one before.  It’s a reasonable wine for the style.

The wine tastes of ripe lemon, yellow apple / melon, and some green apple.  I can almost, but not quite, call it “floral.”  The fruit has nice ripeness with a gentle mouthfeel, but there is also plenty of crisp acid, some (flinty?) minerality, and perhaps a small amount of supporting oak.  It seems to be totally dry.  The style reminds me of the New Zealand Rieslings I’ve tasted, but the fruit here is more complex, ripe, and full.  However, that’s not saying very much, as I have generally disliked those thin and acid NZ Rieslings.  This Chilean Riesling is an interesting and reasonably tasty wine that I think would be good with raw shellfish.

The next day, the rest of the wine in the bottle was more forward and integrated, but otherwise much the same.

Leave a Reply

