Parra Jiménez 2010 Graciano

100% organic Graciano grapes; 13.5 ABV
La Mancha DO, Spain
$3 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 March

ParraJimenez_2010_GracianoWhen I saw this bottle, I recalled that Graciano had been a component of other wines discussed here, but I had never seen one bottled on its own.  I have become more suspicious of $3 GO wines these days, but I thought that it might be priced so low to entice people to buy something completely unknown.  Anyway, the low price and my curiosity got the better of me, and I’m very glad they did.  This is quite good wine for the price.

I decanted it off a small amount of sediment and didn’t taste it for about an hour.  Then, and over the next few hours, the wine showed flavors of tangy, medium to darker purple plum, darker red cherries, hibiscus tea, earth, perhaps a little prune or kalamata olive, and supporting wood.  The wine is not terribly striking, but is tasty and complex enough, has real character, and held up very well over the time we finished the bottle, with food and without.  I’d say it’s a nice value.

5 thoughts on “Parra Jiménez 2010 Graciano

  1. cawinediva2015ca

    I did a little research and found that the Graciano is also known as Bastardo. For years we have gotten Nerelo de Bastardo at Trader Joe’s. Always a fun European wine. I’m guessing that Nerelo is a variation of Nero, meaning black.
    Hoping to find the Graciano this weekend.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi CAWineDiva. While Bastardo is apparently an alternative name for Graciano (see bottom of Wiki article linked above), TJ’s Nerello del Bastardo seems to be something else entirely: Italian wines made from Nebbiolo and perhaps also Sangiovese juice that by law could not be labeled with the regional name (such as Barolo or Barbaresco for the Nebbiolo). Please see this post. Anyway, if you find this Graciano, please let us know what you think of it.

      Reply
  2. seedboy

    The Oakland store had this among the white wines and I bit. I chilled and opened it and did not get what I expected, at all. That said, I agree, this is a good wine especially for the price. The Oakland store yesterday had a white from the same maker, same price, I like it quite a bit.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Seedboy. I also saw the white from this producer (a Verdejo?) at the Richmond store, but guessed the red was a safer bet. Thanks for the note that the white is also a reasonable wine for the price.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

