Braveheart 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon

California, 13.5% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 5 March

Braveheart_2012_CabSI picked up this wine for its impressive packaging, its rather full-of-itself back label story, and its relatively low price.  The fruit flavors  reminded me somewhat of the 2011 Hart & McGarry Cab – nice red and purple cherry, blackcurrant / blueberry / blackberry, and cranberry –  but not as complex and elegant, and with too much American oak for my taste.   It seemed rather young, with an unusual aspirin / chalk flavor in the finish, and maybe second half will be more evolved.

The second half is smoother and more integrated, perhaps also more complex, with flavors very similar to the first night’s.  It still has too much American oak for me.  It’s tasty enough, but it’s rather fruity and candy-like for me.  I would guess many people would like this wine, so give it a try if it sounds good to you, but for me it’s only Drinkable.

2 thoughts on “Braveheart 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon

  1. Expat

    I waffled on this one because it appeared like it might be quality but I thought it might be exactly like you described, and I guess it was. It has that Bronco/Ripon, CA feel – polished packaging but too juicy, oaky and one dimensional. Thanks for the review and saving me trouble.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Expat. I wouldn’t call it one-dimensional, but, otherwise, I agree it’s a wine I would not expect you to like.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

