Spring 2015 wine sale 20% off

Since I started writing here, I’m pretty sure the semi-annual wine sales have always been Wednesday through Sunday of the first full week of a month, although the particular month has varied for the Spring Sale.  (The Fall sale has always been in November.)  This year, however, the sale will be the Tuesday through Saturday immediately before Easter, that is, March 31st through April 4th.  Stores I visit are already stocking up for it.

Please use comments here to post recommendations, what you’re finding and how you liked it, etc.  Happy hunting and cheers!

66 thoughts on “Spring 2015 wine sale 20% off

  1. permiesworld

    Has anyone else seen the 2011 Quest Pinot Noir? I don’t have time to do a real review for several days, but it’s got a very nice lightweight body, fruit, smoke and leather. We just did some taste tests to see if we wanted to pick up anymore. I think it’s quite nice and very different (both in body and flavors) from the 2009 (2009 was much heavier and more fruity/jammy). This one is more elegant. I’d love to hear some other opinions on it.

    Also, my advice, pass on the Mayerdale Rose…jolly rancher candy with a weird aftertaste.

    Reply
    1. permiesworld

      I just don’t know what’s happening with the GO wine. We opened this one earlier for taste testing and it was nice (the Quest) but now that I poured it (about 5 hrs later for dinner) it’s almost verging on sour. So…I’m not even going to bother writing a review. Just a heads up note here.
      ~PW

      Reply
  2. weinish

    I went into Oakland today.

    Saw some random wines I picked up (all prices pre-sale):

    2008 Enira Bessa Valley Red –
    http://www.cellartracker.com/wine.asp?iWine=1222914&searchId=E44B1A19%23selected%253DW2044625_1_Kfa4be7df4bc6ec6c809d0044ba258bc8

    I have one open and airing now. Seems pretty good for the low price of $4.99.

    Bertrand Gris Blanc for $2.99.
    http://www.cellartracker.com/notes.asp?iWine=1605395

    Bertrand Fitou $4.99
    http://buyingguide.winemag.com/catalog/gerard-bertrand-2009-rhone-style-red-blend-grenache-carignan-fitou

    I’ll have notes of maybe two of these by day’s end. And if they’re good I’ll be back at the store sometime around 4:30 or 8:30.

    Reply
  3. lim13

    Just wanted to mention for our Seattle area readers… I was at the Kenmore store on Saturday afternoon where a tasting was being conducted. I tasted the following: 2011 Hinman Oregon Pinot Noir (very light and tart, but lots of varietal flavors); Sagelands Riverbed Red (fruity, flavorful, a touch of R.S….what I’d call a wine “for everyman”); 2012 Mosaic Zinfandel (quite varietal, medium-bodied, not great, but not bad); 2004 Principe something or other Sicilian red (orange/brown color, oxidized, earthy…would NOT recommend); 2012 Dancing Coyote Rose of Pinot Noir…good color, very tasty, but a bit too sweet for me); 2012 Cascade Range WA Riesling/Rattlesnake Hills (off-dry, had none of the green apple flavors nor tangy acidity I enjoy in a WA state Riesling, but I suspect some will enjoy it). And finally…Rich the wine guy at Kenmore surprised me by telling me that their store will be open on Sunday with the sale continuing…unlike every other GO I contacted (most are closed for Easter!)

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Thanks for your recollections of wines at the tasting. My impression just from the stores near me is that there wasn’t a lot of wine sold at this sale. It could be just that I went earlier in the morning, but things did not seem as busy. Hits on the blog are always highest on the first day of the sale, declining during the week, then usually reviving on the weekend. This time, they did not increase on Saturday. Anyone else have any thoughts / impressions / info?

      Reply
      1. permiesworld

        I was talking to one of the local owner/operators and he said things like the Yellowtail just blew off the shelf…but as of last evening, the wine section was still very well stocked.

        Reply
      2. Darrell

        I would check out the wines the last day or two of the sale in Berkeley because different wines would be brought out. That’s how SB, I and others picked up some Gonet-Medville Champagne. There were others wines put out also toward the end of the sale. Not sure it was intentional, but it kept me checking the sale after that. All this was before I checked the blog.

        Reply
      3. EHL

        FYI…the Oakland GO is open Easter Sunday, the last day of the wine sale, till 9 pm.

        Picked up a very interesting Carmenere from Chile yesterday at Oakland:

        2011 Echeverria Classic Collection Carmenere, Curico Valley – Molina, Chile, 13.5 % alcohol, retails around $12 and selling for $3, with the GO sale discount at $2.60. This Carmenere is estate-bottled from a family-owned vineyard that has been operating for 85 years down under.

        Upon opening, the wine was a brilliant dark ruby-purple color, with a muted nose that didn’t open for about an hour, whereupon it revealed notes of blackberry, black cherry, tar, leather and espresso in both aroma and flavor.

        There was also a vegetal element, that distinctly reminded me of the RLT Cabs. In fact, this wine really tastes remarkably similar to the those smooth and memorable South African Cabs.

        I very much enjoyed this medium/full-bodied wine, that was nicely balanced with fruit, acid and tannins working in harmony, providing an inviting sweet and savory contrast. As to the finish, it was lingering and marked by a peppery, spicy aftertaste.

        For the price of “Two-Buck Chuck,” you can get this substantive wine which received a “Silver Medal and Best Buy” designation from the Beverage Tasting Institute. While not a stunner, the ’11 Echeverria Carmenere delivers a lot of punch for the pennies and is perfect for a daily quaffer.

        I picked up a case… and there are still about 10 cases left, which even post-sale presents quite the bargain!

        Reply
      4. inthewinecountry

        BW, I was surprised to see my local GO open on Easter and it was well stocked and had a few empty spots on the shelves maybe either limited supply or a good seller. This year I stayed close to home.so not sure how the sale went. I usually talk to the GV GO as this store does decent business during the sale so next time I am up there I will have to ask.. As for me I did pick up a mixed case of mostly reds to try over the next month and because I wasn’t sure about availability, I picked up a case of the KaiKoura before the sale because it was a good deal and another one during the sale. I also picked up half a case of the Tractor Guy 2010 PN after buying it Sat and trying it. You reviewed it but it didn’t sound like it was your style but I found it to my liking for a PN. After trying a 95.00 Pinot today at a winery in Livermore I would put this 7.00 PN up against that one any day.

        Reply
      5. inthewinecountry

        BW, you did a great job of trying to review wines before the sale to give people a heads up on what might be worthwhile but it seemed like you didn’t come across anything truly exciting.
        If it hadn’t been for the Kirkoura I probably wouldn’t have bought as much as I did. My wife didn’t like it as much so she got a case of the Vintage Ranch SB so between the two of us and sharing with family we are set for our summer whites for the next 3 to 4 months.

        Reply
    2. inthewinecountry

      Lim, you know anything about the Tractor Guy Pinot? I found one cached website when I searched for TG in Agwin, I suspect it was a winemaker or small vineyard doing their first label release and not getting anywhere in the wine world so giving up after their 3rd vintage.

      Reply
      1. lim13

        Sorry, ITWC…I know nothing of the Tractor Guy and have never seen it (or most of the wines, like the Kaikoura, which I would have coveted, discussed during the sale) up here in the NW. Very disheartening!

        Reply
        1. inthewinecountry

          lim, tried to e-mail the tractor guy web site but link is no good but it did come up Landera vineyards.com when it bounced back. I looked them up and they are a winery up in Angwin Howell Mt. and they do a PN from the RR appellation so this might be a second label for them. First bottle was pretty tasty, hope the reports of bottle variation are wrong as I bought more! As Darrell kidded me I compared this to a Wente Nth Degree PN I tried Easter Sunday which was 95.00 a bottle so I could buy 2 cases of this for one bottle of that.

          Reply
    3. flitcraft

      Sorry to have missed you at the tasting–we were there just after noon. Your reviews are spot on, though I am a little more down on the Hinman Pinot than you might be. Wish they’d had the Banshee wines in the tasting (there was a rose of pinot and a chardonnay), since their pinot noir was pretty good. Left (nearly) emptyhanded, wine-wise, though we did get a couple of cheeses. The only wine we bought was one more bottle of the Woodbridge Portacinco, just so the wine tasting trip wasn’t a total dud. Good on them for having wine tastings at Kenmore; it would be nice if we had some better stuff to taste, though.

      Reply
      1. lim13

        That IS too bad, flitcraft…because we very well may have been in the store at the same time. My wife and I took the 11:15 ferry from Kingston and went directly from Edmonds to the Kenmore store. So we probably arrived right around noon. But we were only there about 15 minutes, as we had to get to my in-laws place by 12:45. Had I had the time to look around, I’d likely have bought a couple of the Banshee Rose’ based on , I believe, RB’s positive comments (from the Olympia area). But no huge loss, as I NEED NO MORE WINE! My understanding is that Kenmore has been doing tastings for a few years now. And they actually use real glasses and not the little plastic one ounce “medicine cups” they use at Silverdale and Bremerton. I always take my own glass.

        Reply
  4. RB

    The only thing I’ve picked up during this sale is more of the Banshee 2103 Rose of Pinot Noir. It’s quite good. The Olympia store is out, but the Lacey store still has quite a few in stock.

    Reply
    1. jwc

      I ventured over to Vancouver yesterday and PU the ’13 Banshee Rose of a Pinot Noir and the ’07 Silver Lake Reserve Merlot. Did see the Gainey chard for $9 but passed on it for now, it was the ’11 vintage. Not a total bust but even the GO guys were saying it was a ho hum sale.

      Reply
  5. permiesworld

    I got an email from the Lebanon store owner…said they got some additional Oregon wines that might be of interest (I definitely enjoyed last year’s Quest PN and I believe these are all newer vintages than the ones I’ve reviewed before). I think I may buzz over to Lebanon today since neither of our local stores have these wines. I haven’t seen my Oregon Zinfandel’s listed as the Primotivo grape, so while I’m not a big fan of Zin, I might pick one up.

    Mayerdale Primotivo 5.99
    Mayerdale Syrah Merlot Grenache 7.99
    Mayerdale Oregon Red 7.99
    Mayerdale Rose 4.99
    Quest Pinot Noir 8.99

    Reply
    1. permiesworld

      I finally got over to Lebanon this evening. Picked up (prices, pre-sale):

      2011 Quest Pinot Noir $7.99 (the last vintage I reviewed was a 2009…which was a much better year but I’m willing to try this since the 2009 was so good).
      Also the Garnier Vineyards:
      2011 Primotivo $5.99 (another name for Zinfandel, if I understand correctly? Is that correct?)
      2011 Rose…absolutely NO info about the varietal on the bottle. Can’t find anything online either. The receipt said “merlot rose” but where that info came from, I have no idea. Has anyone got any information on this Rose?

      Reply
    1. permiesworld

      Originally I didn’t find a thing to purchase (visiting two different stores). Up here, it was like they didn’t even try to get things to draw the interest, for the most part. Just mass supermarket wines…nothing interesting or exciting at all. But as I just posted above, one store ordered some things that interest me so I’m going to make the effort to get over there and pick a couple up.

      Reply
    2. BargainWhine Post author

      I certainly had fun picking up a lot of interesting-looking, and generally not very expensive, bottles. We’ll how enthused I am whenever I am able to start opening them. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Seedboy

    I opened my second bottle of the Bertrand Minervois after the first one was corked. This is a nice wine if you are looking for a fruity but reasonably balanced sun drenched red wine.

    Reply
  7. rgardner2

    Seen during the sale at the Lakewood store that should be decent:that I haven’t noticed being mentioned. Nothing special.

    2013 Nova Vita Old Vines Zinfandel Paso Robles $7 (Veris Cellars – JanKris and Ben Hogan)
    2011 Spirito d’Italia Tuscan Red $4/11 3.4 on Vivino – so cheap quaffer
    2012 House Wine Riesling $5/15 WA Charles & Charles
    2012 Cresta Blanca Merlot CA $5/15 (Wente)
    Ghione Anna Piccole Gioie Moscato d’Asti $5/12
    2011 Sagelands Riverbed Red Blend $5 – Precept
    2013 Rockridge Riesling WA $5 (I like)
    Washington Hills Late Harvest Riesling $5 (if you need a LHR) – Precept

    Reply
    1. weinish

      So peoples…I’ve had a rough few days spent in the hospital. Had to go about 4 hours after hitting GO Oakland on Tuesday.

      Not sure if I’m missing anything, but can we get a list here of some of the better “can’t miss” or “best” of this sale?

      We agree Kaikoura is solid (and gone)
      I bought some of those Rose’s from Oregon.
      Has anyone tried the Bertrand wines yet?

      Thanks. Been a tough slog.

      Btw, if you’re bored, I’ll be back on the air tomorrow 10a-1pm on Talk 910. Cheers.

      Reply
      1. seedboy

        Hope you’re getting better.
        This is maybe the weakest bunch of wines yet for a sale. I bought a couple of the Le Corte or Conte (sp?) Barbarescos. That Echeverria syrah/carmenere blend is a nice wine for $2.33. If you liked the Victor zin and have not yet grown tired of it, there is still some of it around. Apparently, though, Oakland was expecting another delivery today, I’ll go by and see if anything else appears.
        The Bertrand Minervois is a full bodied fruity wine but the one I opened was corked so I cannot really evaluate it. I am not even going to try the Cab and Merlot, too warm in So France for those varieties.

        Reply
      2. Darrell

        Tried a Bertrand wine for the first time a couple of days ago, the Minervois, and not much aromatics after trying the 2010Tractor guy PN. Not much impetus to try anymore Bertrand wines. Agree with SB, a boring wine sale. I’m done with my purchases.

        Reply
          1. inthewinecountry

            weinish, liked the Taraval very much when it was around but without a lot of feedback from people and so many wines I wasn’t tempted to buy any of the rest of the Bertrand wines

            Reply
            1. weinish

              I bought a few. He wins awards, and the Taraval’s latest vintage made WS Top 100.

              Besides, you can always return, so I roll the dice.

  8. lim13

    Nothing new that really interested me at Silverdale today. Bought the following which have all been previously reviewed here: e got (2), Gancia Prosecco (2), Lunatic Red (2), Hart & McGarry Cab (2), Ottomonti Sagrantino, Reserve Lot 11 Zin and Victor Zin…one each. Stan the wine guy says no more shipments until after the sale. I won’t be returning…the sale is done for me.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Lim13. Thanks for checking in despite the slim pickins in your area. Which vintage of the Sagrantino did you find?

      Reply
    2. permiesworld

      I thought I would make it to Salem today but I’m not going to be able to get there. Didn’t find anything local. The Corvallis guy said no more shipments until after the sale either.

      Reply
      1. jwc

        I found a couple things, some of the 2007 Montefalco Sagrantino, a delicious 2012 House Riesling (Precept or Charles Smith I can’t remember which owns this label, perhaps both?) and a couple magnums of the 2011 Rio Seco Pinot Noir, which I thought was drinkable. Nothing really new or anything to get excited about this time around.

        Reply
        1. jwc

          Also PU some more Lunatic Red which is a serviceable blend nice BBQ wine, and the Aresti Reserva ’11 Syrah that the wine guy at Tanasbourne said he liked. I also PU’d the Napa Valley Reserve Chardonnay Two Palms, and did like it. Have had some better GO chards in the recent past year or two, but this is nice and well made. Good QPR.

          Reply
          1. permiesworld

            I almost bought more of that Lunatic red…like you said, it’s such an easy drinking wine…pairs so well with meals. Still a great buy IMO (but we’re still having space issues lol). I saw that Chard. I’m just not much of a Chardonnay drinker. Glad you enjoyed it. JWC, did you see any of the Quest or Mayerdale wines your way?

            Reply
          2. flitcraft

            Which vintage was the Twin Palms Chardonnay? I saw the 2010 in one Seattle GO (MLK I think) for 7.99, and the 2012 for 4.99 at Kenmore. I liked the 2012 a lot, and wasn’t as fond of the 2010, which seemed a bit out of balance and shrill to me.

            Reply
  9. Seedboy

    I was at the Oakland store today. Apparently there will be some Bertrand wines (merlot, chardonnay, not sure what else) put out for the sale. Not much else new. There is still a lot of the NZ SB. Tractor Guy pinot is there and it is not bad. Still some of the Swami at Berkeley and maybe Oakland. Berkeley and Oakland both have a lot of the Napa Valley Sangiovese 2009. Oakland still has that older Carignan/Zin blend, there is a good quantity of it in the back.
    They will put wine aside for you on request but if you want to make sure you actually get it, pick it up that day.

    Reply
  10. weinish

    I just purchased a bottle of 2013 Van Duzer Estate Willamette Valley Pinot Noir Rose in Oakland.

    There was one bottle someone had sort of hidden. $4.99.

    The reviews on the KL Wines site are good. Haven’t had it yet. Anyone seen more of this, or do you think it was a one-off from a closed door store, or something?

    Reply
    1. permiesworld

      Is it designated as the WV PN? I just wondered because they have about a dozen different options, or so. We tasted it during our last wine tasting tour. It was nice. I can’t remember specifics. We tasted at several different wineries…they are a blur. lol But $4.99 is a great buy. Most basic WV PNs run about $22-25 and then the “reserves” work their way up to $80+. I’m guessing if it was the WV desig. that it was in the $20-25 range.

      Reply
      1. Seedboy

        This Van Duzer is designated WV. This wine is at Berkeley, and either Pinole or Richmond. It is a nice Rose wine, dry, minerally, nice balance.

        Reply
  11. weinish

    I find it annoying when GO wines are actually more costly than elsewhere.

    Like the Terra Da Vino Nebbiolo and Barbaresco. It’s why they’ve been on the shelf for months.

    Reply
        1. seedboy

          I have discussed the pricing on these wines with the folks in Oakland, not sure they will do anything about it.

          Reply
    1. permiesworld

      Agreed. And K&L has had some great sales. I’ve been picking up some nice Aussie Shiraz from them lately…only bummer with them is that sometimes when I order, they’ve over sold and my order is cancelled because they don’t have enough.

      Reply
  12. lim13

    Stopped in at the Silverdale GO today and found nothing new of interest. For the wine sale I may pick up a few bottles of old standbys that are still on the shelves there: the Hart & McGarry Cab, the Victor and Reserve 11 Zins and the Lunatic Red (which I’ve yet to try anyway). It’s amazing to me that they’re actually asking $10.99 here for the 2013 Four Star Cab (not the previously reviewed red blend) …and the stuff is only a year and a half old!

    I know that BW reviewed the 2010 Headstand Zin and didn’t really like it at all…but has anyone been bold enough to try the 2012 that’s now on some shelves? Lake County isn’t exactly known as a hotbed of Zin production!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      The other is the “Primarius” 2011 Oregon Pinot Noir, vinted and bottled by Primarius Winery, Dundee, OR. (I could not get the Primarius web site to load.) The colors of these two wines through the bottle look identical, but they list slightly different alcohol percentages, 12% and 12.5%.

      Reply
    2. lim13

      I reviewed an earlier vintage of PN from this producer in March 2012. Thought the name sounded familiar! And I have the utmost confidence in the reviewer of the Battle Creek, Sean Sullivan. He’s the publisher of the award winning blog “Washington Wine Report”. He’s also now NW editor/reporter for “Wine Enthusiast” magazine. I’ve followed his blog for a number of years and find his reviews to generally be spot on. Like the 2007 vintage, this 2011 sounds a little lighter than what I usually prefer.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        Thanks for making the connections for us, Lim13. FWIW, both these Oregon Pinots look exactly the same through the bottle, are both 2011, both bottled in Dundee, and are the same price, $8. They have only slightly different alcohol levels, 12% vs. 12.5%.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

