Les Chaberts 2012 rosé

50% Grenache, 40% Syrah, 10% Cinsault; 13.5% ABV; screw cap
Appellation Ventoux Contrôlée, France
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 20 March

LesChaberts_2012_roseI got this because I thought the recent white and red Les Chaberts wines had been good and decent, respectively.  I was a little worried at how red its color was, that it might be more forwardly fruity than I like.  However, when I opened it, the opposite was true.  It seemed to have hardly any flavor at all.  I screwed the cap back on, put it back in the fridge, and tasted it again a few hours later.  The result was the same.

I tasted this again this evening, a couple days later.  While an edge of strawberry fruit was more forward, it still struck me that there was not much to this wine.  I suppose it’s Drinkable, but I would guess there are better options for rosés.

Leave a Reply

