Van Duzer 2013 Rosé of Pinot Noir

Willamette Valley, OR; 13.1% ABV; screw cap
$5 at the Oakland, CA, store on 31 March

VanDuzer_2013_RosePinotNoirThis wine showed up immediately before the sale, and was praised here and by people I ran into in the wine aisle during the sale.  I agree it’s a nice, dry, crisp rosé.

On the first day, the wine needed a little time after opening, and a little warming from fridge temp to show less ripe flavors of cantaloupe, tangerine, and strawberries, with crisp acid, and a minerally structure and finish.

The next day, the rest of the wine was more forwardly fruity and less minerally, with the fruit perhaps slightly darker, and still quite tasty, maybe better depending on your preferences.

I was a little thrown off by this wine at first, I think because I was reflexively comparing it to southern French rosés of Syrah and Grenache.  With some hindsight, I’d say this wine is to those southern French wines much like red Pinot Noir is to red Syrah / Grenache.  The flavors in this wine are more restrained and subtle.  You could easily treat this as a light quaffer (which is fine with me), but I thought a little more attention was rewarded.  You could also justifiably say, “You idiot!  Why are you talking about more or less subtle flavors in rosés?!?”  🙂

4 thoughts on “Van Duzer 2013 Rosé of Pinot Noir

  1. jwc

    I had PU several bottles of this in CA a couple months ago, and popped one of these, along side a bottle of the Banshee Rose of Pinot Noir from Sonoma. Both wines were nice, the Van Duzer very dry, slight chalkiness, while the Banshee had more fruit and flavor . Both steals at $4 in CA. PU in April so likely long gone. Nice match with the hot weather here in Portland.

    Reply
  2. 5-Star Bar

    I’m a fan. Beautiful label too. My bottle had a slight defect with the screw cap. It didn’t twist off, so I just took the foil cutter on my wine key (the traditional style ) and cut.through the perforations on it. Opened right up…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

