Leva 2010 Chardonnay – Dimiat – Muscat “Winemaker’s Selection”

50% Chardonnay, 30% Dimiat, 20% Muscat; 13.0% ABV
“Regional white wine from the Thracian Valley”
produced and bottled in Bulgaria by Vinex Slavyantsi
imported by Texavino LLC, Wilmington, DE
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 15 April

Leva_2010_WhiteI am pretty sure I’ve never had a Bulgarian wine before, and I had never heard of the Dimiat (димят) grape.  I was a bit wary, but the possibilities of wines like this are, for me at least, a lot of my enthusiasm for shopping at the GO.  While this wine was rather different from any I can recall, I thought it was delicious!

On the nose, I smelled mostly the perfumed, floral aromatics of Muscat, with some yellow and white fruit.  On the palate, this totally dry wine showed full but delicately balanced flavors of light yellow apple / melon and white pear, with juicy acid of yellow lime / grapefruit and white nectarine.  I couldn’t detect any wood.  This could pair with white fish or fresh cheeses, but is delightful on its own.

The next day, the wine was more forwardly fruity, adding a little more bitterness of grape skin, but still delicious.

7 thoughts on “Leva 2010 Chardonnay – Dimiat – Muscat “Winemaker’s Selection”

  1. Max

    I didn’t like the Leva when I first opened it, so I put the cork back in, put it into the fridge, and forgot about it. A week later I decided to try it again (thinking I would probably just dump it down the drain). Very floral aroma, and a very interesting mix of sweet fruit, followed by some bitterness and acidity. Kept on going back for more. I’m going to buy at least another bottle, and try decanting it.

    Reply
  2. Queego

    Hi,
    I didn’t care much for the Leva, finding it sort of bland, but while I was up at the Richmond store I picked up two reds that I thought were really good. I don’t have time to write a real review, but you might want to check these out. They were each $4.99:
    –> 1) A different Bulgarian wine, from the Thracian lowlands, called Enira 2008. It’s a blend of Merlot, Syrah, Petit Verdot, and Cabernet Sauvignon (and it comes in a tall, very pretty bottle). Very well made, and delicious.
    –> 2) Boccali Vineyards “Topa Topa” 2011 Syrah: a beautiful Syrah: velvety mouthfeel, great Syrah fruit, a bit of leather and white pepper in the finish.

    I went back and bought more of both of these.

    Thanks for this great public service!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Queego and welcome! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like the Leva that much, but thanks for the recommendations on a couple reds. I (and other folks; see link) agree about the Enira. Seedboy also recommended the Boccali Syrah in What’s New.

      Reply
    2. seedboy

      I was at Oakland yesterday. Enira is still there. The Boccali was running low. The latter has never been seen in Berkeley.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi GOWL. I agree that was pretty funny, especially the partially translated user comments. 🙂 I wonder how it would compare from the box.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

