Fort Simon 2012 Chenin Blanc

Stellenbosch, South Africa; 14.5% ABV
$6 at the Richmond, CA, store on 4 May

FortSimon_2012_CheninBlancI don’t drink a lot of Chenin Blanc, but this has to be the weirdest one I’ve ever tasted, and one of the stranger white wines I can recall.  The nose is ripe-fruity, musty / musky, and slightly sulfurous.  The palate tastes of over-ripe, if not slightly spoiled, tropical fruit: golden kiwi, star fruit (Carambola), maybe pineapple.  It’s not altogether terrible, but I really can’t recommend this for the price.

The next day, the rest of the bottle was a little better.  The weird musty / maybe sulfury, not-quite-jackfruit flavor was still there, but overall the wine seemed a little more fresh and it had developed clearer lemony acid.  Still, it is far from the perfumed white flowers, white pear, and yellow apple that I expect from my limited experience with Chenin Blanc.  Hmmm…  apparently, these tropical fruit flavors are more typical of South African Chenin Blancs, but I would still guess this is not the best example.  It’s not godawful, but I still wouldn’t recommend it.

4 thoughts on “Fort Simon 2012 Chenin Blanc

  1. Expat

    A customer at Redwood City GO raved about it so I bought a bottle. Perhaps bottle variation?Will report after trying.

    Reply
  2. dluber

    I tried a bottle and would have rated it a solid drinkable – mine didn’t have the off-flavors and aromas yours did, but was on the bland and boring side.

    Reply
  3. Xandria

    I just wonder if you had an “off” bottle. I would actually try another bottle. But then again, I really like Chenin Blancs from South Africa. Cheers!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Xandria! Are these flavors typical of SA Chenin Blancs? If you find and try a bottle of this, please let us know how it compares to the ones you have liked.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

