Fontana Gina 2013 Pinot Grigio

Veneto IGT, Italy; 12.5% ABV
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 4 May

FontanaGina_2013_PinotGrigioThis wine, with its solid yellow color through the bottle, immediately looked atypical for Pinot Grigio from the Veneto area, which is usually a more pale yellow with a tinge of green.  Indeed, as it turned out, it’s more in a Californian style, with softer, ripe fruit and less structure and tartness than a typical northern Italian white.  But, maybe because I’m a Californian, I love it.

It’s not as ripe and heavy as it might be if it were from Napa, but its more delicate body and sweetly ripe fruit could be from the Central Coast.  It showed typical Pinot Grigio flavors of lemon and pear, some atypical sweet yellow fruit that could be peach or mango, and a little freshly dried straw.  Although the fruit is ripe, it certainly has enough pleasantly balancing acid.

The next day, the rest of the bottle left in the fridge dominated by acid instead of by sweet fruit, but that acid was still ripe, juicy, and tasty.  The wood / straw was also a little stronger.  Although the overall character of the wine was a bit different, I thought it was still very tasty.

2 thoughts on “Fontana Gina 2013 Pinot Grigio

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    My wife opened another bottle of this this evening, and I had some while waiting for the red to air. Not a bad chore, as I think it’s still darn yummy for $4.

    Reply
  2. Expat

    You’re description is perfect BW. This is a great example of how I can completely agree with the content of a review but disagree with the final grade because of my personal taste. My impression was that it tasted almost more like a California white than an Italian Pinot Grigio, just as you wrote. Rather than a plus I view that as a negative because I missed the tart, lean dryness of the typical Italian PG. That’s not to say I didn’t like it ok – it just wasn’t in a style that I prefer. For me it was Drinkable. Again, my personal preference, not an objective judgment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

