Sodini 2013 Chardonnay

California; 14.3% ABV
$5 at the Oakland, CA, store on 14 May

Sodini_2013_ChardonnayThe back label of this wine reads in part, “Cellared and bottled by Sonini Wines, Napa, CA,” so maybe this wine showed up at the GO because of this typo.  I could not find anything about this wine online, but I did find that there’s a Sodini Vineyard from which Rochioli has made Chardonnay in the past.  Whatever the reason, I thought this was pretty good wine for the price.

The wine shows typical Chardonnay flavors, supple and fairly elegant, of ripe lemon and yellow apple, with a good amount of green apple.  The fruit is nicely ripe, with some viscosity, but well balanced by tangy acid.  In its character, my wild-assed guess is this is mostly Central Coast fruit with a little Napa.  Anyway, Thumbs Up, as none of this survived to see the next day.

8 thoughts on “Sodini 2013 Chardonnay

  1. Patti

    I purchased one bottle of the 2015 chardonnay from GO and went back the same day and bought a couple cases! Many years ago, the only wine I drank was chardonnay and I preferred to drink it room temperature. When I tasted this one I reaffirmed that I still prefer it room temperature! Such a good wine for $4.99 a bottle. My taste has evolved over the years and I love red wine as well, and of course champagne is wonderful too!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Patti and welcome! Thanks for telling us this vintage is good, too. Shopping at the GO over the years has certainly broadened my wine horizons.

      Reply
  2. Joe

    Not a big Chardonnay guy as I find it varies too much for me and I don’t like “sweet” wine. This was very good, dry enough, yet fruity and flavorful in a crisp way. I’ll buy more tomorrow.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Joe and didi, welcome to comments, and I’m glad you both also liked this wine. I’m interested to hear that some made it up to WA. At least here in CA, I think we’re near the end of this tasty wine, so get more if you want more.

      Reply
  3. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened another bottle of this wine yesterday, and it was exactly like my first bottle except that some of this bottle did survive until today. It’s possibly even more yummy today, with the fruit more ripe, juicy and forward, the yellow apple becoming slightly pineapple-y. Quite delicious CA Chardonnay for the price.

    Reply
  4. Trevor James

    Grabed a bottle on Friday a picked up a bottle to have with dinner last night and thought that this was excellent. Great fruit, flavors of vanilla cream, honey and pear. The wine had a very nice finish and seemed to improve with air. Definitely one of the better values at Grocery Outlet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

