Evening Land 2011 Chardonnay

Arroyo Grande AVA, California; 13.25% ABV (I don’t recall seeing 2 decimal places before)
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 15 May.  Plenty at Berkeley.

EveningLand_2011_Chard_ArroyoGrandeOn the first night, I didn’t like this wine very much.  It was a little sulfurous, especially at first.  Later, it still seemed a little rough and poorly integrated, tasting of tart lemon, a little yellow apple, with a finish of oxidized or slightly spoiled apple.  There were moments when it seemed like there was a nicely delicate Chardonnay in there somewhere, but on the whole it didn’t emerge.

I liked it much better the next day, when it showed barely ripe fruit of pineapple / yellow apple, lemon, green apple, and vanilla, still with rather crisp acid.  While there’s still a hint of the first day’s sulfur, overall the wine has become delicately flavored, entertainingly complex, and nicely integrated.

I didn’t get to finish the review last night, so I got to sample some on the third day after all.  It had become dominated by green apple, even more acid, and I wouldn’t recommend it.  Overall, I really wanted to like this, and on the second day there was a lot good about it, but I thought its nice nuances were generally overshadowed by its acid.

4 thoughts on “Evening Land 2011 Chardonnay

  1. seedboy

    First bottle of this I tasted was sulfuric, as described here. Second one was not, it was good popped and poured. The first bottle, I liked the wine two days later but I think I might be an outlier on acidity on this board.

    Reply
    1. weinish

      no sulfur for me, but that may explain the GO appearance.

      i liked it more the first night because it was a bit restrained, and generally speaking this type of one doesn’t appeal to me. But if I did like this style of wine, judging on others I’ve been with, I could see why they would prefer it more on Day 2.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Wow, one where the second digit is not a 0 or a 5, even. Guess I wasn’t paying attention. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

