Worthy 2011 “Five Clones” Sauvignon Blanc

Napa Valley, CA; 12.7% ABV
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 26 May

Worthy_2011_SauvBlancThis looked to be a pretty nice Napa Sauvignon Blanc, with nice color and packaging.  It indeed had nice fruit of melon and citrus, mostly yellow and a little green, but I found it overwhelmed by strong, leading bitterness.

It was better the next day, with the body and fruit more filled out and integrated, but still rather bitter.  I wasn’t sure whether to say Thumbs Down (first day) or Drinkable (second day), but it probably doesn’t matter that much.

15 thoughts on “Worthy 2011 “Five Clones” Sauvignon Blanc

  1. Max

    The 2012 was at the Sonora, CA store, and my wife and I really liked it. Had some Chablis qualities. Going back for more.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Max. Thank you for alerting me to the arrival of a new vintage, probably better than the 2011 I reviewed above. FWIW, I saw the 2012 at the Berkeley store this evening, although I didn’t get a bottle (yet).

      Reply
    2. lim13

      Just curious, Max…because Chablis is made predominantly from Chardonnay and this wine is a Sauv Blanc, can you be a bit more specific about what Chablis qualities you found in the 2012 Worthy “Five Clones”?

      Reply
      1. Max

        I was pretty surprised too, but I did note some salinity and minerality, which I normally associate with Chablis.

        Reply
            1. lim13

              I finally opened a bottle of this tonight after finding it at Silverdale in mid-August and…I really like it…and it’s the 2011 that BW reviewed above, not the 2012. I found no significant bitterness, just grass and fresh mown hay, pear and spice and some grapefruit. Found it a bit soft and flabby in texture, but not enough lack of acid to make it the least bit unpleasant. Somewhat reminiscent of old Grigich Hills SB’s. I may actually buy a couple more if it’s still lingering at Silverdale.

            2. BargainWhine Post author

              Hi Lim13. Thanks for the report and I’m glad you liked it. It sounds like this wine has evolved a bit since I tried it, or perhaps there were different bottling lots.

            3. lim13

              Unfortunately this wine is now all gone in Kitsap County (Silverdale & Bremerton). Either it was well-liked or there wasn’t much of it…or both. I still have one more bottle though.

  2. GOWineLover

    I bought this at Concord and had the same reaction. Nicely made wine with good structure but the bitterness killed it for me. It’s not *that* bitter but there are plenty of other choices around right now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

