Swami 2010 Pinot Noir

Sonoma Coast, CA; 14.2% ABV
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 1 June

Swami_2010_PinotNoirInitially, this seemed quite promising except for a somewhat tart and bitter metallic finish.  Fortunately, this unpleasant finish mostly aired out after about two hours in a decanter, when I thought it was fully aired.  Then, it showed tangy black cherry / almost kirsch, some Pinot funk, and smaller amounts of darker red cherry, cola, and orange.  The unpleasant finish was almost entirely gone.   While I’m not as excited about this vintage as I was about the 2009, I still think it’s very good value in Pinot Noir.  Let’s hope it doesn’t have the 2009’s bottle variation issues.

The saved single-glass screwcap bottle of this wine was richer and redder, more strawberry / red cherry / ripe red raspberry than black cherry.  Still very good.

12 thoughts on “Swami 2010 Pinot Noir

      1. JoelA

        Archaeology is one of my most favorite pursuits, especially when one digs up great old finds. Just don’t go to San Pablo for any recent hot items.

        Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Berkeley still has a couple cases’ worth of the 2010 on a bottom shelf in the corner. I got a couple more bottles this morning.

      Reply
      1. BargainWhine Post author

        I opened the last of these tonight. After sitting through the daily temperature fluctuations at my house since then, it’s still very nice. It was good enough right away, but it became softer, darker and more complex after about an hour in a decanter.

        Reply
  1. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened a bottle of this that had been sitting at home for a month or so, and it didn’t really need time to air. The fruit did darken and smooth out with some air, but it wasn’t all that necessary. It’s still delicious, and I’m glad to have another bottle. I think there is still some at Berkeley, as they got quite a lot in their first shipment.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      However, I opened that last bottle tonight, and it has a very slight tang of spoiled fruit, so I guess there is some bottle variation.

      Reply
  2. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened a saved single-glass screw-capped bottle of this wine this evening. I also opened a bottle of Williams-Selyem 2010 Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir to serve to guests. After a couple hours in the glass, the Swami actually compared quite favorably to the W-S, which seemed a little past its prime.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Berkeley got a lot of it, so I imagine it’ll take a while to sell it all, however good.

      Reply
  3. BargainWhine Post author

    I opened another bottle of this wine tonight, which I had purchased soon after the first. Interestingly enough, the flavors were very much like those in the saved single-glass serving from the first bottle: richly textured medium red cherry with nice earthy complexities. Excellent for the price.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

