Divinis 2012 Grenache

100% Grenache;  13% ABV;  screw cap;  from Cariñena DO, Spain
bottled by Bodegas Ignacio Marin; imported by AW Direct
$5 at the Richmond, CA, store on 8 June

Divinis_2012_GrenacheI had wanted a Pinot Noir to go with a lighter-flavored soup, but I didn’t have one on hand, so I opened this bottle thinking it would also be a lighter red.  That turned out to be only slightly true, as this is actually a pretty substantial wine for the money.

I thought it needed about 75 minutes in a decanter before it became ok to drink.  It showed flavors of tangy red cherry and raspberry in a medium body, a bit on the tart side, but good enough with the soup.  However, it was really as the evening went on that the wine impressed me.  I liked it best as I was finishing it off, about three hours after I had opened it, when it tasted of dark black cherry and raspberry, purple grape, and some dark, funky earth / maybe rubber.  It was a bit disjoint, with a slightly odd flavor, but pretty tasty and no longer especially acid.

The next day, the second half (stoppered in a 375ml bottle with very little air) still needed about 75 minutes of air in the glass to become nicely integrated, tasting of ripe, medium purple boysenberry and cherry, earth, and a mildly stemmy flavor.  I’m not super wild about the wine, but I think it’s solid and tasty enough to push it into Thumbs Up.

7 thoughts on “Divinis 2012 Grenache

    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Yes, the Tempranillo is available here, too, for the same price as the Grenache. I figured I probably wouldn’t try it, so if you’re curious… 🙂

      Reply
  1. Darrell

    I was about to pick this up and try, but didn’t due to the screw cap. The gold award from a
    world grenache competition in France intrigued me and am glad you tried the bottle. I was wondering how it compared to the 2012 Marques de Almonacid Garnacha, Carinena,

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Darrell. Unfortnately, I didn’t try the Almonacid Carnacha since Lim13 had already reviewed it. From his description, it sounds like this wine is a more substantial and complex, but not quite as easy drinking.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

