Masquerade Conegliano Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore 2014 $8.99

Produced by: C.V.B.M. S.R.I. Salgareda-TV-Italia
ABV 11.5%
Purchased: Salem GO 6-17-2015

FullSizeRenderApparently the DOGC “Prosecco di Conegliano Valdobbiadene” is only given to the “finest Prosecco wines coming from the Veneto region” and they only may be labeled as such if they come from vineyards within the San Pietro di Barbossa area.

As to this particular wine, some of you from my generation might perhaps appreciate the Addams Family moment I had when opening it. As soon as the cork popped, some sort of condensation, giving the appearance of steam,  issued from the mouth of the bottle and continued to do so even as I poured a sample into the glass. It made me laugh and remember fondly the smoking toasts of Gomez and Morticia.

Color: palest straw, almost clear with a hint of golden tone.
Fragrance: citrus, floral
Category: I would put this at “Extra Dry”. It’s not dry enough to be Brut but there isn’t a marked residual sugar sweetness so I’m thinking it fits nicely in “Extra Dry”.
Taste: On first sip, there was a noticeable yeastiness and I was concerned (IMO, one will often find a yeastiness in the lower quality Prosecco but it should not be a factor in the best Prosecco), however it blew off almost immediately and was not discernible in the 2nd sip. What I did find was clean, crisp citrus at the fore with floral (hibiscus-like) supporting notes and a nice (but not overpowering) minerality. Overall, exactly what I’d expect from a tasty Prosecco.

I do not know what the MSRP of this wine is, originally…but $8.99 is a decent price for what I am tasting. I wish I’d picked up a couple of bottles. As of 6-17-2015, this wine was still plentiful on the shelves of the “D” Street Salem, OR G.O.

Edit: one thing my husband and I were talking about as we finished this off tonight…it is good and $8.99 is a decent price for a good Prosecco. However, we would be hard pressed in a blind taste test to tell the difference (taste/quality-wise) between this and Kirkland’s Prosecco (Veneto DOGC) at $6.99/bottle.

One thought on “Masquerade Conegliano Valdobbiadene Prosecco Superiore 2014 $8.99

  1. Ginny

    Agreed! My beau and I have gone through several bottles and, for the price, it’s a perfectly good quaff in the “drink it now” column. (I find the Costco brand to be edgier — a little more aggressive and acidic, less smooth.) For a buck more, Trader Joe’s sells a Conegliano Valdobbiadene prosecco that’s much better than the other Zonin-grade proseccos they flog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

