Disclosure

This morning I started working part-time at the Richmond Grocery Outlet, mostly in the beer and wine section.  The store managers are people I met a few years ago because of my participation in this blog, and they’re fine with my continuing to express my personal opinions here about the GO wines I taste.  The prevailing wage in Richmond is hardly outstanding, so rest assured I’m not cashing in for the big bucks here, and I will still be paying full price for everything I buy.  I plan to still administrate this site, and I expect to still get to other GOs, but I may have less time to write reviews. So, y’all… please continue to post about interesting new finds and about your thoughts on the reviews here.  Thank you!

29 thoughts on “Disclosure

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    Hi all. I have a question for anyone interested. As an employee at the Richmond, CA, GO, I help with the ordering and see wines come in that strike me as interesting. However, I have not said anything about them, unless I had tasted them, since that is a lot like the “advertising” I have avoided since my pre-employee days. (To my regret, I have been able to taste only a small fraction of the wines that come through my store.) Would folks out there like me to change this and, if so, how? Thank you!

    Reply
    1. JoelA

      As far as I’m concerned you could either continue your practice or post from time to time a list of new wines that have come in or are coming in. Maybe in the latter case you would want to remind folks that you work at Richmond.

      Reply
      1. Angela T Carlson

        I think posting a list of what looks interesting with the understanding that you haven’t gotten to them yet would be nice. Never enough time to taste all the wine. So review the ones you do and ask others to help get through the ones on your list.
        Teamwork makes drinking easier : )

        Reply
        1. permiesworld

          Agreed. Just an FYI is often an encouragement to pick something up and try it. Often it’s a planned trip for me, to got to a GO…so if I have incentive, I will make the trip.

          Reply
          1. BargainWhine Post author

            Hi Joel, Angela, and PW! Thank you for helping me clarify my thoughts. In response, I’ve created a new page, “Noticed,” where I will list the wines I would like to try if possible.

            Reply
  2. Angela T Carlson

    Welcome to the family (my husband works for Corporate)
    Thanks for all the wonderful reviews and helping to make this space possible.
    BTW, the buyers are pretty nice. Hopefully you’ll become friendly with the Order Writer and get more involved.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Angela and thanks! I’ll slowly get more involved in helping with the beer and wine order, but I’m not sure if I’ll get to meet the buyers. I’m sure we’ll again run into each other during the next GO wine sale. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Great Wine Hunter

    Your honesty is appreciated. Congrats on the new job and keep up the good work you do with your reviews.

    Reply
  4. cawinediva2015ca

    You’ve done a great job. Looking forward to more posts.
    Also looking forward to the new GO in Napa soon. If you could please let management know that a knowledgeable wine team would really be an asset here, we would really appreciate it. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Thanks, CAWineDiva. However, I am not at all connected to the forthcoming Napa store. Best wishes for it! Please let us know how the wine selection is when it opens.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      If only I could! Already, there were new wines in the store I’d love to try. But especially after that case I got from Oakland, I’ll have to wait a little.

      Reply
  5. Qay

    Cool! Was just in the store Sunday. Maybe you can help them get a better beer selection too :). Some GO’s, have a great selection but that one, not so much!

    Reply
  6. Paul

    Congrats! I really enjoy your blog, and I have found some really great wines with your recommendations!

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Thanks, Donna. I will do what I can, but please do also peruse the “What’s New” and “Guest Contributions” sections.

      Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Thanks, Rockridge. I have nothing to do with the buying, which is done by GO corporate. I was told recently that there are now four buyers, two for domestic, two just for imports. It’ll likely even be a while before I have anything to do with the ordering for the Richmond store.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

