Villa Travignoli 2011 Chianti Rufina

Chianti Rufina DOCG, Tuscany, Italy; 13% ABV
purchased some time in the last couple weeks at the Richmond, CA, store

VillaTravignoli_2011_ChiantiAfter Weinish had championed this wine and others had seconded, I got a bottle and finally opened it last night.  I Weinished it, i.e., I just opened it, poured my glass from the bottle, started drinking.  I totally concur.  This is delicious Chianti for the money.  It’s quite fruity and fruit-forward for a Chianti, tasting of tangy, dark cherry tending toward plum, pit of cherry / plum / black olive, earth, and a mildly tannic finish.  It went great with a frozen BBQ chicken pizza from the GO.  🙂

I was worried that this wouldn’t do well the next day but, if anything, the saved single-glass, screw-cap bottle is better.  The flavors are more integrated, the taste more delineated and overall more balanced than on the first night.

20 thoughts on “Villa Travignoli 2011 Chianti Rufina

  1. Expat

    Weinish’s PR campaign intrigued me too so I was happy to finally find this in Atascadero. I tried it the other night – popped and poured. Instantly I was hit with that distinct European wine flavor/aroma that I like so much. Sort of woody, sort of earthy – can’t really articulate it any better than that. It’s funny, BW you describe it as fruity and I think you’re qualifier is key – “for a Chianti”. It had that old world fruitiness which isn’t syrup or cloying.

    With some breathing the funkiness mellowed and it became even smoother. This was last Friday night. I capped it, left it on the counter and went away for the weekend, returning Monday night. The wife made her Italian family’s lasagne recipe for my return and I decided to see if there was any life left in the bottle. Incredibly it was still solid. Definitely an approachable Chianti that tastes like one many times its price. Hail Weinish!

    Reply
    1. weinish

      Yeah, all Hail Weinish!

      Ok, I have some bad news…

      I have probably tasted some part of 12 bottles of this wine, at least. 1 was corked, so that’s nothing significant, but I opened one last night and it tasted entirely different than all the rest. The thing of it is, the wine was still good, but it was much more fruit forward than any of the others, lacking that earthy/woody component that I too love.

      I am wondering if that’s why this wine landed at GO. Either way, I’m fine with it, but worth noting there could be slight bottle variation.

      WEINISH! WEINISH! WEINISH!

      (weinish knows little about wine, btw)

      Reply
      1. Expat

        Down with Weinish! (ha ha)

        Thanks for the follow up and it makes sense why it’s at GO and a great price. At just 4 shekels I’ll buy a few bottles factoring in a failure/variation rate. The remnants of my bottle STILL tasted good tonight.

        Reply
        1. weinish

          I have kept a few bottles open in number of days and they always hold up well. I just took another sip to make sure I wasn’t imagining things, and this one particular bottle is slightly candied. but I’m with you on this, I may grab another case if I can find it

          Reply
            1. I'll Have the Red

              I bought a bottle of this wine in Berkeley on Thursday. Must be an example of *bottle variation*, as it was not drinkable.

            2. BargainWhine Post author

              Greetings IHTR! Welcome to comments and thank you for the alert. Anyone else have a bad bottle of this?

      2. EHL

        The VT we received up here in Seattle perhaps has experienced a bit of bottle variation, too.

        However, it’s nice to report that the second bottle I had was actually appreciably better than the first…nice aromatic nose and tasty, complex body with depth and character, minus the acidic bite of the first bottle drunk.

        Excellent value for the money…may have to pick up a case…

        ;}

        Reply
  2. seedboy

    I really believe that young Tuscan wines should be decanted. At Osteria Rendola, just east of Chianti Classico, I’ve seen them double decant young reds.

    Reply
  3. Seedboy

    Saw many cases of this at Berkeley today. I still have GO wine I bought in the early 2000s. Need to get into some of them soon.

    Reply
        1. adlerpe

          I’ve still got my last bottle of the 1989 Calissano Bricco Mira Langa Barolo that appeared for about five minutes at the Berkeley GO about seven years ago. I polished off the last of the 1988 a year or so back. I should drink the ’89 this year; 26 years seems super-old for a Barolo. And I’ve still got a Mersault from that time about five years back when a bunch of leftovers from the Hospice de Beaune charity sale ended up at the Oakland/Broadway store.

          Reply
    1. weinish

      Btw…I’m grateful you take the time to figure these wines out. I don’t have the patience, and it’s really helpful to know what a wine is really made of. Especially since so many wines that end up in the GO probably do so because initially they may have not met expectations. letting them breathe like you do is very helpful. I am waiting for some of you guys with cellars of wine from the GO to start telling us if any age well.

      Reply
      1. adlerpe

        Some of them age superlatively, and this is from a guy whose “cellar” is a cupboard underneath his kitchen sink. The late-80s Barolos from Luigi Calissano definitely improved for a few years after I cleaned the Berkeley store out (the bottles came in at $5 each, and dropped to $2 by the time I grabbed a couple of boxes and got the last of them). I got a variety of the late-90s Madirans that were floating around for a few months in 2013; most of those developed a more austere mineral quality with a few more years of aging. And the sweet wines, of course; the ports, Sauternes, Tokajis and high-sugar Rieslings. As long as they don’t get too warm, they’ll almost always get better with age.

        Reply
        1. seedboy

          I miss those Baroli. Did you see the 1993 Barolo that came in a gift box? They were $2.99 a bottle and delicious. I think I have one or two left.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

