Casa Ferreirinha 2012 Duoro “Papa Figos”

Douro DOC, Portugal
35% Tinta Roriz (Tempranillo), 30% Touriga Franca, 20% Tinta Barroca, 15% Touriga Nacional; 13% ABV
imported by Broadbent Selections, San Francisco
$6 at the Richmond, CA, store on about 22 July.

CasaFerreirinha_2012_DouroI felt like this wine never fully aired on its first night open.  It seemed to promise becoming dense, dark earthy, red-fruited.  Instead, it was rather sour and unyielding, but it slowly opened more over 4.5 hours or so.  The flavors were in the vein of dark cherry, red plum, cranberry / hibiscus tea.

The next day, however, the saved single-glass screw-cap bottle promised to open up more fully, but still never quite made it.  It showed flavors of dark ripe and tart plum, cranberry, black earth, dark roses / violets, still with pretty strong acid.  With these results, I think this is pretty good wine for the price, but I’d recommend putting it down in cool storage for 4 to 6 years.  If you want to drink it now, I’d suggest putting it in a covered decanter for 6 hours to a day before serving.

3 thoughts on “Casa Ferreirinha 2012 Duoro “Papa Figos”

  1. BargainWhine Post author

    Hi all. I tried my experiment of putting this in a covered decanter for a day before drinking it. Even after that, I thought it needed 2 – 2.5 hours of the decanter’s being open to show what it had. Then, the flavors were much the same as reported above, but the wine was elegantly smooth and integrated, and less acid than before, coming into a really nice balance.

    Reply
  2. permiesworld

    I’m not used to touriga nacional or touriga franca being tart or sour. True most of the time I find that these grape varietals need about five years minimum to be ready to drink, so that might be it. We are current enjoying the 2010 vintage with no issue. But I’m tempted to think something is off when I read those words in association with these types.

    I don’t have this particular wine but about 1/3 of my personal stash is Non-Port Portuguese wines. I’m a huge fan.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi PW. Thanks for sharing the voice of experience with these wines. I suppose there could have been something wrong with this wine or my bottle. I’ll get another to lay down if I see it again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

