Spy Valley 2011 Rosé of Pinot Noir

Marlborough, New Zealand; 13.5% ABV; screw cap
imported by Broadbent Selections, San Francisco
back label says the bottle contains “8 standard drinks.”
$4 at the Richmond, CA, store on 29 July

SpyValley_2011_PinotNoirRoseSince I’ve liked New Zealand Pinot Noir, I had been intrigued by this NZ rosé of Pinot Noir for a while, but got a bottle only recently.  I’m sorry it took so long, because this wine is delicious.

The first pour (approx. 0.3 standard drinks?) was somewhat tart, making me suspect it was over the hill.  However, the next glass was nicely elegant and tasty.  I then left to go eat dinner out, leaving the bottle in the fridge with the cap on.  When I returned a few hours later, the wine was extra yummy, tasting of sweetly ripe fruit of tangerine, red berries, yellow fruit (apple? pear?), rounded out by gently supporting wood and enlivened by decent acid.  If you prefer the bone dry southern French style of rosé, this wine, although I’d still call it “dry,” may not be for you.  Otherwise, it’s very appealing.

The next day, the last tiny bit in the bottle (kept in the fridge). was more acid, with the previous apple or pear becoming more lemony, and the wood finish becoming more prominent.  It wasn’t terrible, but I liked it better the first day, and the second day may be better if there’s more left in the bottle than there was in mine.

2 thoughts on “Spy Valley 2011 Rosé of Pinot Noir

  1. lim13

    I was introduced to Spy Valley wines about 15 years ago when we began selling their Sauv Blanc in the stores where I worked. It was quite delicious. But I had no idea they made a rose’.

    Reply
    1. BargainWhine Post author

      Hi Lim13. Then I’ll keep a lookout for any Spy Valley Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Noir. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

