Il Follo Prosecco “Extra Dry”

made from 100% Glera grapes, Prosecco DOC, northeastern Italy; 11.5% ABV
imported by Wade and Clark, Hawthorne, NY
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on 1 Aug.  Also at Richmond.

IlFollo_NV_ProseccoI got this bottle mostly because I liked its shape, and because an extra-dry Prosecco sounded tasty on these warm days.  Although I have not tasted a lot of Prosecco, this one strikes me as different from my previous examples.  Instead of ripe, yellow flavors, this one shows green and white flavors of apple and pear, with only a little yellow apple, and the mouthfeel is slightly more textured than I recall.  Similarly, the gently ripe fruit is balanced nicely with crisper acid and a slight bitterness.  The carbonation is moderate.  It is pretty dry, but not as absolutely crackling dry as some sparkling wine I’ve tasted.  I doubt it’s an extraordinary value, but I found it quite enjoyable and good for the money.

Leave a Reply

