Steelhead 2012 Chardonnay

Sonoma County, CA; 14.2% ABV
$7 at the Richmond, CA, store on 20 Aug

Steelhead_2012_ChardonnayThis wine has been around for a while, and appreciated by my customers who seemed particular about their Chardonnay, even at its somewhat higher price.  I guess I can see what they like about it, but it’s not in my style.

Right away, the wine shows full-bodied, quite ripe yellow apple, buttery and oaky, but not so much that it leaves splinters in your tongue.  I find this wine a bit heavy and indelicate, but if this is your thing, it’s a decent example.

The next day, I thought the rest in the bottle (left with the cork in it in the fridge) was worse for the day open.  It was quite similar, but I thought it had become more unbalanced or even had a slightly off flavor.  I was happy to add it to some sausage and white bean stew.

Leave a Reply

