Hooker 2010 “Breakaway” Chardonnay

produced and bottled by Lawer Family Winery
Napa Valley, CA; 13.5% ABV
$6 at the Berkeley, CA, store on about 27 Aug

Hooker_2010_ChardI seemed to recall some excitement about some “Hooker” wine a while ago, although I thought it was a red. Still, I thought I should try this one. However, after trying it, I suspect even more strongly that the “Hooker” excitement was about a red. 🙂

On first pour, the nicely structured wine showed less intense flavors of less ripe lemon and yellow apple, vanilla / white pear, and bitterness of skin and stem. While I liked the “well-put-together”-ness of it, I was disappointed by the lighter flavors, and I thought the bitterness overwhelmed the fruit. However, it’s not that bitter, and still reasonably good, and I could see it floating some folks’ boats.

The next day, the last glass or so left in the bottle (corked in the fridge), was a little more forward, but overall very similar. For me, okay but not that exciting.

Leave a Reply

